TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

#FridayFavorites

Just as the weather was starting to get nice (i.e. too warm for my liking), my allergies stopped by to remind me that they would like to come visit just as soon as possible and catch up, see how my winter has been, you know.

Well, I tried to get out of it, of course.

“Oh, I’m sorry, we’ll be terribly busy over the next few months, but I’ll be sure to keep in touch. Have a nice summer, don’t ever change.” That whole bit.

Refusing to take the hint, those pests have been back knocking at my door every day this week insisting we reconnect.
donkey-making-waffles-gif
Having no alternative, I conceded and now find myself typing this post between vigorous sneezes.
*sigh* I’m ready for the weekend so that I can lock myself away with Netflix, food and naps.
outisde-bad-sun-scary-gif
FLICKS: Dear Zachary

Dear Zachary is about the life of Andrew Bagby as told through the lens of one of his oldest friends, director Kurt Kuenne, as he travels the world to interview Andrew’s friends and family. Originally, the film was never intended to be viewed by anyone outside of these friends and family as it was more of an intimate look-back on the tragically terminated life of a man they so loved and admired. As the unimaginable details of Andrew’s death unfold, the deplorable practices of the legal system and the life of the woman believed to be at fault, transform the film into a heart-pounding pursuit of justice on behalf of Kurt and the Bagby family.

When I went to university to study film, I had no idea that an insatiable passion for documentaries would surface. This movie single-handedly brought about my awakening in documentary filmmaking and allowed me to realize that these films don’t have to be dry and boring, but have the power to shake you right to your core with their raw, piercing honesty.

I always suggest this film to anyone who claims documentaries aren’t as riveting as fiction films. If ever a film were to prove that real life can be just as captivating as a fabricated story thought up by a collaboration of writers and producers, this one is it.
Sometimes truth is just stranger than fiction.

TUNES: “Wherever is Your Heart” by Brandi Carlile

This song repeatedly came up on my “Mumford and Sons” Pandora station and, since I’m usually only half paying attention to about 10 things at once, my brain would catch up with my happy ears just late enough to miss my opportunity to give it a thumbs up.
Don’t worry kids, this story has a happy ending. This delightful ditty has received a most hearty and affirming thumbs up from me and we can all sleep better at night knowing it is so. #firstworldproblems
Don’t miss your chance to hear it… right now!

EATS: Leige Waffles
If you follow my Instagram, you know that I have a new favorite lunch spot in SW Portland called GiGi’s Cafe.

instagram @ TrulyCozyBlog

instagram @ TrulyCozyBlog

They make waffles like you’ve never had them before.
Their classic liege waffle is the perfect combination of crispy outsides and fluffy– almost doughy, but not!– insides. Its light and luscious.

photo by Global Table Adventure

photo by Global Table Adventure

Global Table Adventure shares a recipe on making these unbelievable waffles on their blog and you really must try them!
The secret is the pearl sugar.
It sounds a little bizarre, having little balls of sugar dispersed throughout your waffle (or maybe it sounds completely brilliant and you’re wondering why you’ve never thought of this before), but it gives the waffle the perfect amount of sweetness without being too rich and overwhelming.
The sugar may be hard to get your hands on and Global Table Adventure has a fine substitute, but I do believe you can purchase the real pearl sugar at GiGi’s if you feel like you want the real deal.
Click here for the recipe!

BLURBS:
running-late-exerciseI can’t even.
Just… bye.

20 comments on “#FridayFavorites

  1. Ali WIlkinson
    April 24, 2015

    Ha ha! Love the shirt. I never had allergies until this year, but this year I’m definitely feeling them. Thanks for all the suggestions!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      April 24, 2015

      I’m so sorry you have to go through any of this ridiculousness. You’re in good company!

      Like

  2. I love that last shirt – hahah – #mylife

    Like

  3. Marlynn Jayme Schotland
    April 24, 2015

    I’ve never been to GiGi’s Cafe but that all looks so delicious!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      April 24, 2015

      I highly recommend you try it! The servers are so sweet and friendly too 🙂

      Like

  4. pechluck
    April 24, 2015

    Waffles are so much more superior to pancakes- they are crispy and soft and can be vehicles for butter and sauce and other stuff the same way!

    Like

  5. Havalah
    April 24, 2015

    love your music selection!! I definitely need to check out Gigi’s cafe; those waffles look amazing!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      April 24, 2015

      Thanks so much! Yes, the waffles are one of a kind!!

      Like

  6. Mike
    April 24, 2015

    Thank you for the nice write-up. It makes us very happy when we become someone’s “favorite”! 😁 Yes, we do sell authentic pearl sugar, as well as an easy take-home waffle mix (with the sugar included). Hope to see you again soon!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      April 24, 2015

      Thanks so much for stopping by, Mike! Anytime I can find a place that has fantastic atmosphere, people and food, I am more than happy to sing their praises! You’ll most definitely see my husband and I much more 🙂 cheers!

      Like

  7. Tracy
    April 24, 2015

    I understand the allergies! I love the sun too much too stay indoors all the time. 🙂 I always take a shower immediately after working in the garden though. That helps.

    Like

  8. ourdebtfreefamily
    April 24, 2015

    Wow! I’m adding Gigi’s to my list of restaurants to visit in Portland. Looks delicious!

    Like

  9. I very much enjoy documentaries and this sounds very interesting. Thank you for the recommendation; oh and Liege waffles? Yes please 🙂

    Like

    • Danielle
      April 28, 2015

      Oh good! I don’t often find others as into documentaries as I am. Thanks for stopping by, cheers!

      Like

  10. stephysweetbakes
    April 26, 2015

    Hi sweety, nominated you for an award. God bless http://stephysweetbakes.com/2015/04/26/the-verstile-blogger-award/

    Like

Speak your piece!