TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

Greed and Gratitude

In the spirit of Thanksgiving, I want to share my first ever free verse poem with you all.

The inspiration came in part from the season and also a quote by Olympic medalist Kristin Armstrong (no relation to that fool Lance).

“I write about generosity because I battle selfishness.”

Greed and Gratitude

Frigid is the whisper that stings
My vulnerability exposed to the elements
Of my own making

A familiar chill reaches down deep
Into the bones of tension
Between success and defeat

Success beams proudly
On the stage set
For an audience of understudies

Defeat fades quietly into the seams
Of society maintaining
A thread of uniformity

This cold war wages on
Leaving my fighting spirit in the dark
Of impending light

Until it dawns on me
That the truth of all matter
Is that you can’t have one without the other

Speak your piece!

Information

This entry was posted on November 21, 2015 by in Uncategorized.

Navigation

