TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

Homemade Raspberry Jam (without pectin)

Up until about two weeks ago, I always thought a tummy ache was just part of the post-morning-bowl-of-cereal experience.
monica eating trifle gif
Any dairy-free people out there feel me?

I made the very adult decision to cut out the milk in my life.
baby crying
I know.
I freaking love milk.

Anyway, although I have found that vanilla almond milk on honey nut cheerios is as close to Lucky Charms and heaven as God ever intended (seriously, try it), I have been having a lot of toast and English muffins for breakfast these days.
This is not a bad thing, except that my favorite jam is raspberry and for some cruel reason there is only one variety of raspberry JAM (not preserves) at my grocery store and it costs about as much as filling our gas tank 1/4 full, so I had to find an alternative.

Homemade Raspberry Jam (without pectin) | TrulyCozyBlog.com
Here’s what you’ll need:
1-12 oz package of frozen raspberries
1 Tbsp lemon juice
2/3 c sugar

Here’s what you’ll do:
1. Thaw your frozen raspberries in the microwave. I left mine in for 1 minute.

2. Combine the ingredients in a saucepan over high heat. Stir frequently to avoid sticking.

3. After about 5-10 minutes of constant boiling and cooking down, remove the mixture from the heat. Spoon a tiny bit onto a cold plate and put the plate in the freezer for 1-2 minutes. If the small amount begins to congeal, your jam is ready to put into a jar and store in the fridge. If it does not begin to congeal, place your mixture over high heat again and continue boiling/stirring for a minute or two and test again until it cools to a jam-like consistency.
Homemade Raspberry Jam (without pectin) | TrulyCozyBlog.com
Homemade Raspberry Jam (without pectin) | TrulyCozyBlog.com
This jam is great for the following reasons:
1. It is sweet, but still has a tart tang from the raspberries, which I have not found in most other homemade jams.
2. It seriously takes 10 minutes to whip up.
3. It uses three BASIC ingredients. Pectin, pft. What is that anyway?? Something I don’t have in my kitchen right now, that’s what.

joey eating jam gif
Until next time, cheers!

Speak your piece!

Information

This entry was posted on September 15, 2015 by in recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
