TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

#FridayFavorites: 9/11

I have a terrible memory, one that could likely be studied by psychologists somewhere in search of the true depths of mental divergence. My ability to block out traumatic life events is truly astounding.
Here’s what I do remember:
I remember being asleep across the room from my sister in our mostly quiet suburb of Los Angeles when my mom rushed in yanking us out of bed and into what seemed like a nightmare beyond anything I could have dreamed.
The television flashed repeated scenes of horror while the news anchors fumbled through their newscast as they attempted to process their live feeds along with the rest of us.

It was just after 6am on the west coast when we saw the second plane hit the World Trade Center Tower #2.
I was 10 and had no idea what all of this meant.

Going to school late that day, we all floated into our classrooms in a haze. Everything seemed unfamiliar.
Our teacher turned on the news and we ignored our normal morning routines, furthering the day’s abnormal air, and sat in silence with each other trying to make sense of it all.

Instead of my favorites from this week, I offer you some sobering reminders of what we all can take away from the tragic events of September 11th, 2001.
Remembering September 11th, 2001 | TrulyCozyBlog.com

“If we learn nothing else from this tragedy, we learn that life is short and there is no time for hate.”
Sandy Dahl, wife of pilot of Flight 93 Jason Dahl

“My father was the best person I have ever known and though he was taken from me on that day, nothing and no one will ever be able to take way the eight years and two days of my life that I shared with him. After my father died, and after I lost so much, I promised myself that I would never lose who I am as a person – the person that my father brought me up to be. If you owe someone an apology, tell them you are sorry today. If someone asks for your forgiveness, forgive them. Start being the person you always wanted to be today and don’t waste your time worrying about tomorrow.
Mary Kate McErlean, whose father was killed on 9/11 when she was 8 years old.

“The moment to spend with a husband who loves me, or a sick friend, or a delicious new grandchild is here and now. Not some time later. The nation learned this lesson all at once that horrible day in September 2001. The pictures stay with us — the fires and falling debris, and, most hauntingly, the faces. Look how young so many of them were, people who thought there would be much more time, a lot of ‘later’ when they could do all the things they really wanted to do. I grieve for their families — especially for those, like me, who haven’t found any trace of the people they loved. But I grieve even more for the people who died that day. They couldn’t know what we know now about the precious gift of time.
Cokie Roberts, contributing senior news analyst for NPR News

“9/11 was a reminder that the bonds of family can be severed in an instant. They are essential, crucial, valuable, fragile.”
Peter Jennings, late news anchor of ABC’s World News Tonight

“For me and my family personally, September 11 was a reminder that life is fleeting, impermanent, and uncertain. Therefore, we must make use of every moment and nurture it with affection, tenderness, beauty, creativity, and laughter.”
Deepak Chopra, M.D.

Speak your piece!

Information

This entry was posted on September 11, 2015 by in history and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , .
