TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

#FridayFavorites

I’ve been on a jazz kick this week. Its kind of a problem.
At Symposium, the baristas are allowed to choose a Pandora station that the whole shop listens to. I put it on Louis Armstrong because obviously and within an hour everyone looked like they were deeply in love or about to fall asleep.
third wheel
Something about that classic jazz just puts me in the best mood. Its hard for me to articulate.
I feel like my problems are smaller and that, in the grand scheme of life, I am just one tiny drop in a huge ocean.
This music has been around for so much longer than I have been and I’m sure people will still be enjoying its timeless lyrics and transcendent melodies long after I am gone.
It just makes me feel like there’s more out there than just me and my problems.
You know what I mean??
chandler falling asleepPerhaps my explanations have the same sleepy-time effect on people that my beloved jazz does. Drat.

FLICKS: Welcome to Me

Alice (Kristen Wiig, Bridesmaids / Skeleton Twins) is a has just won the lottery and wants to start a brand new shiny life for herself as a talk show host a la Oprah Winfrey. The only problem is that she is off her psychiatric medication against the wishes of her doctor (Tim Robbins, Shawshank Redemption / Mystic River) and mentally unstable. Armed with a newly unlimited cash flow, she sets out to create the show of her life centered only around herself and her experiences. Along the way, she finds new relationships while alienating old ones until she realizes that money cannot fix her problems.

Ever since Bridesmaids, Kristen Wiig can do no wrong in her movie choices, in my humble opinion. Girl Most Likely, Hateship, Loveship and Skeleton Twins have been indie gold and Welcome to Me follows in those same footsteps. Kristen Wiig handles the disposition of her character with grace and tact so that, as the audience, you can immerse yourself fully in the mindset of Alice rather than painfully observing a hyperbole of someone with her disorder.

Definitely check this one out on Netflix!

TUNES: “La Vie en Rose” by Louis Armstrong

“La Vie en Rose” was originally written and performed by Edith Piaf in 1946.
Louis Armstrong recorded the song in 1950 and it has been covered countless times since then.
The title is literally translated as “Life in Pink” and refers to seeing life through rose colored glasses.
It just doesn’t get any better than Louis Armstrong’s deep, yet soothing voice, combined with his soulful trumpeting and arrangements.

Do you have a favorite jazz song? Tell me about it! I love suggestions. 🙂

EATS: One-Pot Red Beans and Rice

One-Pot Red Beans & Rice via Southern Bite | TrulyCozyBlog.com

photo by Southern Bite

Any time I can get a whole meal into just one pot (meaning I only have ONE pot to clean), I am a happy, happy woman.
Southern Bite has a simple and tasty one-pot meal that is equal parts delicious and filling.
This andouille sausage/creole seasoning combination is the perfect way to spice up your evening meal.
Grab the recipe here!

BLURBS:
#FridayFavorites | TrulyCozyBlog.com
Oops.

Until next week, cheers!

Speak your piece!

