TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

#FridayFavorites

Today has got to be my favorite day of this whole week for no other reason than the fact that it is currently in the 60s and the daily high is not supposed to get over 70 degrees.
It makes my heart ache with happiness. It makes my mind soar with possibilities. It makes me involuntarily shriek from giddy excitement every so often.
shriek-happy
My thoughts are racing through all the warm, cozy layers of clothing that I will soon be able to shroud myself in and the *hot* beverages I soon will be craving– just to hold them in my cold hands and feel the steam on my face.
This weather is bringing me into fall time mode and I am so, so ready for it.

FLICKS: In A World…

Carol (Lake Bell, What Happens in Vegas / It’s Complicated) is the daughter of the retiring biggest voice over star in Hollywood (that is since Don Lafontaine died) who works as a vocal coach teaching actors how to do accents. She finally gets her big break to do a voice over for an epic quadrilogy trailer when her arrogant father decides to re-enter the biz and reclaim the glory. She finds herself up against some major voices in the industry in a battle to decide who the executives will choose for this great voice over honor.

This film was written and directed by Lake Bell herself and co-stars comedic genius Demetri Martin. The dynamic between Bell and Martin is so hilarious and quirky, it makes the film worth watching on its own, not to mention a strong and moving performance by Michaela Watkins (Wanderlust). I found myself laughing out loud at the quick and witty dialogue while also feeling the warm fuzzies from a truly funny, feel-good movie.

Definitely check this one out on Netflix ASAP!

TUNES: “Ghost Town” by First Aid Kit

Can we just talk about First Aid Kit for a minute?
Okay, so, this Swedish sister duo began officially playing together in 2007 and released their first EP in 2008.
After releasing a cover of “Tiger Mountain Peasant Song” by Fleet Foxes on YouTube, the girls (Yes, girls. They were 15 and 18 at the time!) gained internationally acclaim and their career took off.
This song comes from their first studio album “The Big Black and the Blue” released in 2010.
In 2012, they released their second album (my favorite album) “The Lion’s Roar” featuring their song “Emmylou” which Rolling Stone deemed the #10 single of the year.
Some of my other favorites include “Wolf” and “the Lion’s Roar,” but seriously their all good. This is one of those bands whose albums I can listen to from beginning to end and not skip around at all.
Check them out!

EATS: Cinnamon Swirled Glazed Pumpkin Coffee Cake

Cinnamon Swirl Glazed Pumpkin Coffee Cake by Buns in My Oven | TrulyCozyBlog.com

photo by Buns in My Oven

As I said before, my heart is so abundantly happy about this cool weather we are having. Fingers crossed that its here to stay!
The first thing my stomach jumps too when the temperatures start to drop is PUMPKIN!
pumpkin flavor sabrinaYou can imagine my excitement when my Pinterest feed started filling up with all sorts of fall flavors this week.
EEEEEEEE!
Buns in My Oven has a simple and scrumptious recipe for cinnamon swirled glazed pumpkin coffee cake that will transport you right into your wool socks and cozy sweaters.
Head on over and check out the recipe here!

BLURBS:
#FridayFavorites | TrulyCozyBlog.com
Yeah… that’s all that really matters anyway.

Until next week, cheers!

One comment on “#FridayFavorites

  1. Geoff (Steep Stories)
    August 15, 2015

    My sister and I watched “In a World” on a whim about a month ago. SO good. And seeing some of my favorite narrators (yes, I knew of some of them) was quite a treat.

    Like

Speak your piece!

