TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

#FridayFavorites

I am still getting used to how much light we get in our new place.
When I wake up in the morning, I am struck with a burst of streaming light from our wide bedroom window. We never have to turn lights on in the house until after 8pm because our sliding glass door and near floor-to-ceiling living room window let in so much sunlight.
This could not be more different from our old place where it was small and cavernous having only two small windows towards the front of its longer layout. By the time you would get to the opposite end of the living room, you couldn’t even read the titles of the books on the shelf without a lamp or cell phone beam.
mickey mouse pitch black
We made it work at the time, but I really had no idea what I was missing!
sunlight-bright
FLICKS: Father of the Bride Part II

George Banks (Steve Martin, Planes, Trains and Automobiles / Cheaper by the Dozen) is a family man who has just gotten settled in his new life with his daughter off in a successful career and new marriage and his son inching closer to the point where he’ll be flying the coop. He is caught off guard when his daughter announces she is pregnant leaving George in a state of panic and denial about where he, himself, is at in life. To add salt to his wound of age, his wife turns out to be pregnant as well and their lives are turned upside down.

It seems somewhat strange to jump to a sequel for my #FridayFavorites movie, but this one is just too good. The character dynamic between George and Frank is uproariously hilarious. I have vivid memories of watching this (and the prequel) with my family growing up and having romantic ideas about life in the ‘burbs and having children, etc. Nowadays, I am leaning closer to urban living and farther away from suburban life, but I still longingly fantasize about shooting hoops with my kid in the backyard and sitting around a lavish (yet hip) dining room table with my family being serenaded by Louis Armstrong or some other crooning king.
My favorite thing about this film is that it just makes you feel good inside. When I watch it, I am filled with warm fuzzy feelings about family and life in general.

TUNES: “Inside the Cage” by Juliette and the Licks

Was I the only one who only recently found out that Juliette Lewis (Whip It / The Other Sister) has a band??
The band began with Lewis and Patty Schemel (drummer of Hole and Blondie)  in 2003.
Dave Grohl (Foo Fighters) filled in their guitarist gap briefly for the recording of their second studio album and then invited the band to open for them at a show in Hyde Park in 2006.
Their other wildly successful singles include “Hot Kiss” and “You’re Speaking My Language.”
The broke up in 2009, but recently announced that they were coming back together for a show in LA on July 23rd.
That happened (and Juliette Lewis totally hurt herself being a bad ass on stage– nothing too serious according to her Instagram updates) yet the band appears to be continuing to play together.
Here’s to hoping…
They are just the punk-inspired rocking band my poor little heart has been yearning for. ❤

EATS: Oatmeal Molasses Bread

photo by Mum's the Word

photo by Num’s the Word

The basic ingredients in bread are so simple.
Flour, butter or oil, eggs or yeast, sugar and milk.
BASIC!
Num’s the Word has a super simple recipe for this Oatmeal Molasses bread that tastes like a hug for your tummy.
This the kind of bread that doesn’t even need toasting. Just a dollop of butter and you’re good to go.
I urge you to check this recipe out here!

BLURBS:
cupcakes-without-sprinklesThe struggle is real, you guys.

Until next week, cheers!

5 comments on “#FridayFavorites

  1. Marlynn Jayme Schotland
    August 7, 2015

    Yay for more light in your new place! It makes a world of difference come The Dark PDX Months. You know which ones I’m talking about (winter is coming…). 🙂 I love Steve Martin, and I did enjoy both the first and second Father of the Bride movies. Such silly fun. Love it! Happy Friday!

    Like

  2. Kelley Gardiner
    August 7, 2015

    Juliette Lewis’ band played Doug Fir years ago. My friend who worked there said she was the nicest celebrity she’d ever served there! This story just warms my 90’s alternative teenager heart every time I think of it.

    Like

  3. Jenni Bost (@jennibost)
    August 7, 2015

    Yay for light! When we are looking for our next home I’m going to intentionally look for a TON of windows and light! Also, Father of the Bride II makes me all kinds of happy too. So good.

    Like

  4. Pech
    August 7, 2015

    At my home I love the amount of light so I can read without lamps until 8 but on the other hand on weekend marathons of Netflix sometimes all that light glare on a dark shadowy show drives me crazy. If my husband had his way our house would always be dark to accommodate all technology displays and not wake him up so early!

    Like

  5. Melinda
    August 8, 2015

    Oh, I love Father of Bride II. Actually, I love both of them. I haven’t seen either in a while….maybe I should have my own little film fest!

    Like

Speak your piece!

