TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

Sugar vs. Salt for DIY Scrubs

I am knee deep in packing paper and tape these days.
The big move is tomorrow and, I’m *this* close to burning the place down and starting over from scratch.
edna modeLast night, I found 3 separate bulk bags of oats, 3 bags of crumbs (formerly chips), 5 almost finished bags of sugar, 4 containers of varying kinds of salt and a partridge in a pear tree.

WHYYYY

WHYYYY

I’m thinking some of the accumulation is from Christmastime when I made various DIY scrubs with salts and sugars as gifts and then proceeded to buy other gifts and keep all the scrubs for myself.
I don’t know, maybe.

This got me to thinking…
What is the difference between sugars and salts in DIY scrubs?
Sugar vs. Salt (for DIY scrubs) | TrulyCozyBlog.com
Sugar
Sugar granules are more rounded and, therefore, much more gentle on sensitive skin such as the face. It also dissolves easily in water, so it breaks down into more of a polisher of sorts without over-exfoliating, which is, again, great for the facial area in bringing out a nice glow without irritating the skin. Use brown sugar for all the same properties with an added warm, toasty bakery scent.
Unrefined cane sugar has nutrients such as magnesium, calcium, iron and potassium, but it is much more abrasive to the skin as the crystals are less rounded than table sugar.  This would be ideal for less sensitive parts of the body, especially those that may have abrasions and you would want to, therefore, avoid using salt on lest it sting you.

Salt
I’m only talking about sea salt here. Table salt is largely ineffective in exfoliating or releasing nutrients into your skin. Sea salt is great for it’s anti-inflammatory properties and drawing out toxins, which make it great for rubbing with coconut oil and lavender or peppermint essential oil onto sore muscles for targeted relief. The sharper edges of sea salt make it an aggressive exfoliator great for heels, elbows and legs.

Happy scrubbing!
tlc-no scrubs#NoScrubs #ExceptBathScrubs

Until next time, cheers!

3 comments on “Sugar vs. Salt for DIY Scrubs

  1. Jenni Bost (@jennibost)
    July 28, 2015

    Which do you prefer? I typically like salt rubs – though, I do like epsom salts sometimes instead of sea salt, especially when it is a sore area. But, sometimes salt can STING if I’ve recently shaved my legs or something, so will reach for sugar scrubs in those instances.

    Like

  2. Marlynn Jayme Schotland
    July 28, 2015

    I’ve always only used sugar scrubs and never salt. Interesting! Thanks for sharing the differences! Good luck with the rest of your packing!

    Like

  3. Renée ♥
    July 28, 2015

    I’m a sugar girl myself, but I had no idea there was any real difference between the two. Happy moving.

    Like

Speak your piece!

Information

This entry was posted on July 28, 2015 by in diy and tagged , , , , , , , , .
