TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

How to Feel More Awake (Without Caffeine)

You know what really grinds my gears??
I can drink 5 cups of coffee any time of day and it won’t affect my energy level whatsoever, but if I drink coffee at night I cannot fall asleep for the life of me.
crying in bed cant sleep
There I was last night at work, about to get off shift, when I remember that I have to pack more when I get home because, as you may remember, we are moving.
I figure, “Hey! Its only 8pm, I can have myself a little vanilla latte so I don’t completely crash when I get home.”
ummm-noWorst night’s sleep ever.

So, in honor of my horrendous lack of sleep…

How to Feel More Awake (without caffeine)

Breathe
You know how when you are content, the cliche is that you heave a great great, big sigh?
deep sighThe opposite tends to be true when we are stressed and, therefore, predominantly breathe shallowly.
Focus on your breathing and take in some deep breaths, this promotes oxygen flow to your cells, improves circulation, lowers blood pressure and ultimately raises energy levels.

Stimulate Your Brain
Try doing a morning crossword or jot down some reflections in a journal. This stimulation will help sharpen your mental responses and gear you up to better focus on your to-do list for the day.

Drink Water
Drinking a large glass of water first thing in the morning helps to get your metabolism going and bring your mind out of its groggy fog. (haha, groggy fog.)

Eat Breakfast
Obviously. This is not one that I have a problem remembering, I’m an eat as soon as you wake up kind of gal, but staying away from sugars and highly processed foods will help you stay fuller longer without having a sugar high and crashing just a few hours into your day.

Take a Cold Shower
No, but really. Your body will hate you, but your mind will thank you (… eventually.)
If you can’t hang for the long haul, just turn your shower to cold for the last few minutes.

Walk in the Sunshine
Going for a brisk walk in the morning sun isn’t only beneficial because of the obvious “exercise is good” factor, it also allows your body to soak up bright, Vitamin D-rich light which triggers an internal response that releases serotonin and dopamine (i.e. hormonal happiness).

Drink Fresh Fruit Juice
Not from a carton, I repeat, not from a carton. The real fruit juice enzymes in real fruits will give you an energy buzz.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’ll be over here doing all of the above…
anna-sleepy
Until next week, cheers!

6 comments on “How to Feel More Awake (Without Caffeine)

  1. Pech
    July 27, 2015

    I use the brisk walk trick often!

    Like

  2. catherinemryan
    July 27, 2015

    Did you magically know I got zero sleep thanks to a week-old baby who decided she wanted to party (i.e. fuss and grunt and stay awake) all night long? Thanks for the ideas, Danielle!

    Like

  3. Melinda
    July 27, 2015

    Great tips! I totally second the one about getting in the sunshine…it always works for me!

    Like

  4. I’m on board with all of these but the COLD SHOWER idea – Can’t… do… it! What a great post for a Monday morning.

    Like

  5. errely
    July 27, 2015

    What a great post for a Monday Morning. I’m on board for all but the COLD SHOWER! Can’t.. do… it!

    Like

  6. Jenni Bost (@jennibost)
    July 28, 2015

    I’ve been trying to trick myself into letting Decaf wake me up since I’m not allowed a lot of caffeine during pregnancy. Sometimes it almost works. 🙂 I do the cold shower when able and it does help, especially in the summer months. But, I can’t do it at work… so, I ice water it is!

    Like

Speak your piece!

Information

This entry was posted on July 27, 2015 by in homesteading, how to and tagged , , , , , , , .
