TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

#FridayFavorites

Having one vehicle for us is a blessing and a curse.
A blessing because we save money on gas, insurance, maintenance, etc.
A curse because I have to get up at well before my body is ready to take my husband to work.
driving baby alseep
Its usually not too big of a deal, except this week, I was coming off a weekend of amazing camping and not amazing sleep.
It wasn’t until Wednesday night when I was able to sleep in to my body’s content (9:00 am), which was truly glorious.
rachel-berry-wake-up
Now that I have a decent amount of energy stored up in me, I can really enjoy all that this weekend has in store.
Namely packing, a movie marathon and a pizza binge.

DON'T HATE ME 'CAUSE YOU AIN'T ME.

DON’T HATE ME ‘CAUSE YOU AIN’T ME.

FLICKS: Still Alice

Alice Howland (Julianne Moore, The Big Lebowski / Crazy, Stupid, Love) is a linguistics professor at Columbia when she is diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s disease. Having had a rich and successful professional career as well as a happy marriage and family life, all that Alice is familiar with begins to sharply deteriorate with the progression of her disease. She can now no longer pride herself on the independence and accomplishments that had always defined her while her. Meanwhile, her family grapples with how they can best care for her while still maintaining a sense of normalcy in their own lives.

After watching this film, it is easy to see why Julianne Moore won an Oscar for her performance as Alice. The story comes from Lisa Genova’s 2007 bestselling book of the same name chronicling the life of the fictitious Alice Howland through familial Alzheimer’s disease at the relatively early age of 50.  The film is heartbreaking in its retelling of Genova’s story. I was struck so deeply feeling the weight of the disease and how it entirely consumed the life Alice had spent so many years building up. I highly recommend this film if you are interested in an incredible story and terrific performances.

Here are some of my favorite moments:
“Who can take us seriously when we are so far from who we once were? Our strange behavior and fumbled sentences change other’s perception of us and our perception of ourselves. We become ridiculous, incapable, comic. But this is not who we are, this is our disease.”

“I used to be someone who knew a lot. No one asks for my opinion or advice anymore. I miss that. I used to be curious and independent and confident. I miss being sure of things. There’s no peace in being unsure of everything all the time. I miss doing everything easily. I miss being a part of what’s happening. I miss feeling wanted.”

TUNES: “Eye of the Needle” by Sia

Sia Furler is an Australian singer/songwriter who has been dominating the music industry over the last few years (although she has been in the music scene since the ’90s).
She has written songs for some the industry’s heavy hitters such as Christina Aguilera, Beyonce, Alicia Keys and Rhianna.
Her lyrics and raspy, soulful voice give her own songs a genuine and raw quality that is undeniably irresistible.
This song is a part of her widely successful sixth studio album “1000 Forms of Fear” released in 2014.
“Elastic Heart” is what initially drew me to this album, but when I actually listened to each track all the way through, I was struck immediately by “Eye of the Needle.”
I love that you can tell, given her powerfully unique voice, that Sia sings the whole song through rather than having an audio tech simply copy and paste a clean take of the chorus over and over throughout the song.
The “imperfections” in her voice show a lack of auto-tuning, which I really appreciate, and a realness that isn’t often celebrated in the pop industry today.

EATS: Peanut Butter Banana Bonbons

photo by Joy the Baker

photo by Joy the Baker

Seriously, I cannot get enough of that peanut butter/chocolate combination.
it is magical
And then Joy the Baker goes and wraps it around a frozen banana and I am officially in heaven.
Or hell, depending on how you look at it, because I am definitely not going to be able to not eat these things.
chandler-full
Check out the super easy recipe here!

BLURBS: 
hate-running-love-pizzaPizza binge commencing in 3… 2…

Until next week, cheers!

15 comments on “#FridayFavorites

  1. Marlynn Jayme Schotland
    July 24, 2015

    I’ve really wanted to see Still Alice but am waiting for a night I have totally free when I know I can bawl my eyes out…I have been told it’s that kind of movie. Enjoy your pizza binge weekend! 🙂

    Like

  2. Jen
    July 24, 2015

    Love Joy the Baker! I really need to try that chocolate banana madness soon. 🙂

    Like

  3. pechluck (@pechluck)
    July 24, 2015

    I love peanut butter and chocolate, but will accept all nut and chocolate combinations 😀

    Like

  4. Rachel Lloyd
    July 24, 2015

    hahahaha Gifs for the win!!

    Like

  5. I totally agree with Marlynn! I need to be in a special “mood” to watch Still Alice – It looks great, but so sad 😦

    Like

  6. errely
    July 25, 2015

    I totally agree with Marlynn – I’ve been wanting to watch Still Alice for quite some time, but it just looks SO sad 😦 Maybe when the rain comes back, I’ll watch.

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      July 27, 2015

      It is definitely a mood changer, but so worth the watch! I hope you get a chance to check it out soon!

      Like

  7. Jenni Bost (@jennibost)
    July 25, 2015

    I work in senior living and see Alzheimer’s every day… I love that a film about the disease has hit such a main stream audience. I haven’t myself gotten to watch it. I’m like Marlynn and am going to wait for a day I am alone and can just bawl!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      July 27, 2015

      Oh gosh, that must be quite an experience. You would know a lot about what this film is trying to address I’m sure. Nevertheless, better wait for a night when you’re ready to use up a whole box of tissues.

      Like

  8. catherinemryan
    July 27, 2015

    I have waaaaaaay too many feels these days to watch Still Alice but I know I will eventually. Ditto Inside Out!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      July 27, 2015

      I bet!! I need to see Inside Out so badly. Just waiting for it to hit a budget theater nearby. 🙂

      Like

Speak your piece!

