TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

#FridayFavorites

I am stoked that this week is OVER because now I can go camping, which I have not done in about 5 years.

As a kid growing up in SoCal, we would go beach camping all the time because the beach was about 20 minutes away.
As an adult, the idea of packing up all our food, clothes, a tent, sleeping bags, etc, etc all on our own for a weekend without a shower can sometimes seem a daunting task. Too daunting for a person who has the ease and luxury of Netflix and a comfy couch right in her very own living room without having to move/pack a thing!

Such a task becomes infinitely less inconvenient when you have the motivation of joining close friends for a weekend of games, campfires and good conversation. As is the case this weekend.
so-freakin-excite-kristin-wiig
BRB. If you need me, I’ll be off…
snuggie-campingHAVING THE BEST TIME EVER.

FLICKS: Wish I Was Here

Zach Braff (Garden State / Scrubs) plays Aidan Bloom, a struggling actor dealing with his father’s worsening illness and the conflicts of family life. His wife (Kate Hudson, Almost Famous / How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days) feels the pressure of being the sole breadwinner in their home as Aidan is turned down repeatedly for roles and their two children can’t seem to fit in at their school. When Aidan’s father is confined to a hospital bed by his poor health, Aidan has to decide if reconciliation with him and his other resentments is worth it or even possible.

In his second shot at big screen directing, Zach Braff delivers this quirky, yet painfully realistic portrayal of life and way of never being what we expect. Braff and Hudson deliver poignant performances that can’t help but draw you in. It is refreshing to see the generic gender roles flipped with this husband and wife duo as Hudson is the one bringing home the bacon for her family while Braff tends to their kids on a daily basis as they struggle in their own way to fit in and understand the hardships their parents are facing.

Here are some of my favorite moments:
“When I was a kid my brother and I used to pretend we were heroes with swords. We were the only ones who could save the day. but perhaps we set the bar a little bit high. Maybe we were just regular people, the ones who get saved.”

“Nothing in life will call upon us to be more courageous than facing the fact that it ends. But on the other side of heartbreak is wisdom.”

TUNES: “The First Day of My Life” by Bright Eyes

I don’t know how I have missed just how sweet this song and video are over the past 10 years.
too-cute
Full disclosure, I cried when I watched this music video for the first time.
Now, Aunt Flo may have been just around the corner, but still.
Bright Eyes consists of Conor Oberst (founder) and Nate Walcott along with a rotating lineup of indie rockers from Omaha, Nebraska where the band originated.
This song comes from the album I’m Wide Awake, It’s Morning released in 2005.
Take a listen!

EATS: Wild Rice and Chicken Casserole

photo by Lauren's Latest

photo by Lauren’s Latest

Perhaps its just the use of “wild” in the name, but somehow wild rice is so much more exciting in any recipe than regular rice.
Anyway, Lauren’s Latest has an incredibly simple recipe for wild rice and chicken casserole that you can throw together and serve in a jiffy.
Special shout out to her use of TOASTED ALMONDS in this recipe, because I freaking love me some toasted almonds in any and all things.
Check out the recipe here!

BLURBS: 
summer-body-tacosLet’s be honest.

Until next week, cheers!

10 comments on “#FridayFavorites

  1. Renée ♥
    July 17, 2015

    “Wish I Was Here” has not even blipped on my radar screen until now. Thanks for that: I always enjoy Zach Braff and this looks like a good one. Have a wonderful time camping!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      July 27, 2015

      Ooh! I hope you watch it if you’re into Zach Braff. Its a goodie!

      Like

  2. Marlynn Jayme Schotland
    July 17, 2015

    LOL – I am dying, DYING, at the Snuggie camping GIF! I had to dry my tears from laughing in order to read the rest of your post. I’m glad I was able to because then I got to cry again watching “The First Day of My Life” video. So sweet! Have a fabulous time camping!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      July 27, 2015

      Its not a party till someone whips out the Snuggie, tbh. 😉 Thanks, Marlynn!

      Like

  3. Jen
    July 17, 2015

    That’s one of my favorite Bright Eyes songs… 🙂 Have fun camping!

    Like

  4. Pech
    July 18, 2015

    Haha so true why is wild rice more exciting than all the other rice (save sprouted rice, which sounds alive and thus more dramatic!)

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      July 27, 2015

      Pech, you are so right. Sprouted rice, ooo00o0oo0ohhhh 😀

      Like

  5. Melinda
    July 18, 2015

    Have a great time camping! I agree that it is sort of daunting to get everything together, though!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      July 27, 2015

      It can be, but it always seems to end up being worth it 🙂

      Like

Speak your piece!

