TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

How to Test Your Oven’s Accuracy

As I announced yesterday in my post about downsizing, we are moving.
Along with the myriad of things to think about when you pack up your entire life and relocate is the oven.
One of my least favorite things about changing homes is having to figure out the idiosyncrasies of the new appliances.
Just when I had perfected the doneness of my famous chocolate chip cookies…
david-bowie-cookiesfknaknlkafkjaernkjanvlds

Alas, we must rebuild. In an effort to smooth the process of getting a new oven, I have been looking in to testing an oven to avoid J-Law situations like these:
oven_fire_reaction
Which brings us to…
How-To-Test-Your-Ovens-Accuracy
To test for temperature accuracy:
Line a baking sheet with foil, lay a spoonful of sugar on it and place it in your oven. Set the oven to 350 degrees.
After an hour, the sugar should still be powdered (browned perhaps, but not melted).
If it has melted, your oven runs hot.
Turn your oven up to 375 degrees while the baking sheet with sugar is still inside and after 15 minutes it should be completely melted.
If it has not melted by this point, your oven runs cold.
(source)

To test for evenness: 
Place slices of bread on the center rack of your oven making sure it is evenly lined. Set your oven to 350 degrees.
After 5 minutes, you will be able to tell based on where the bread is lightly toasted or singed, where your hot and cool spots are.
(source)

Now I’m actually kind of excited to move so I can make a rack full of yummy toast.
bread-love#lifegoals

Until next time, cheers!

14 comments on “How to Test Your Oven’s Accuracy

  1. Aubrie LeGault
    July 14, 2015

    You’re gifs are so funny… anything (like oven temperatures) can be comical with clips like that lol.

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      July 14, 2015

      Yes, exactly! I can’t resist. Gif’s are just too good. 🙂

      Like

  2. Marlynn Jayme Schotland
    July 14, 2015

    What a really helpful test. I’m pretty certain our oven runs slightly hot, even without the test, but this is great. Thanks!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      July 14, 2015

      I feel like most of the ovens I’ve been acquainted with have run hot. Although I do love a good gooey center, not underdone, but just moist enough!

      Like

  3. Great post – I’ll have to try it out!

    Like

  4. catherinemryan
    July 14, 2015

    This is so smart! I’ve never tested my oven, though I tend to learn by trial and error if I need to adjust baking times. Also, I rely on my nose more than the timer when I’m waiting for goodies to be done!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      July 27, 2015

      I have a sensitive sniffer myself, but when it comes to baking, I seem to only be able to smell when something has been overdone and by that point the damage has been done. Sigh.

      Like

  5. Erin
    July 14, 2015

    This is awesome! I got a new oven a while back and think it’s been working pretty well but always wondered if there was a better way to test it rather than just ruining a cake or like in your case, some cookies. So frustrating!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      July 27, 2015

      New oven! Exciting! Ruining baked goodies, not exciting. Hope you give this a try 🙂

      Like

  6. Ms.K
    July 14, 2015

    the gifs!!!!!! they’re so funny… hahaha, nice post, thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

  7. Renée ♥
    July 17, 2015

    Great advice! And I love the Gifs, especially the last one. I know our oven bakes a little unevenly, but I should do this so I have a more clear picture. Thanks!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      July 27, 2015

      I feel like I don’t know of anyone’s oven that actually cooks evenly. Ah well… toast for all! 😉

      Like

Speak your piece!

Information

This entry was posted on July 14, 2015 by in tips and tagged , , , , , , , .
