TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

#FridayFavorites

I started a new job a few weeks ago as a barista in the coolest little local coffee shop (in my humble opinion) and it has been great.
Since starting with zero barista experience, I have learned how to make all kinds of drinks from traditional macchiatos (yum!) to lattes (yum!) to the Starbucks drinks some customers are exclusively familiar with that are named after traditional drinks but are completely different in every possible way (yum!).

When it comes to coffee, any way you make it, I’m downing it.
coffee-iv-lorelai-gilmore
As you can imagine, this job has really done wonders for my… “problem”.
You-Drink-From-The-Pot-bill-murray
FLICKS: Grace of Monaco

This is the story of Grace Kelly (Nicole Kidman, Moulin Rouge! / The Others) and the life she led after leaving Hollywood for her fairy tale life with the Prince of Monaco (Tim Roth, Pulp Fiction / Reservoir Dogs). Based off actual events, Grace is less than satisfied with the role she is forced to play as the quiet complacent wife to her husband while he deals with matters of political significance for the tiny country of Monaco. As tensions between this country of only 36,000 people and France rise, Grace is offered a chance to return to the silver screen. She must make the choice, for better or for worse, between a starring role in film or a supporting role in her family.

I must admit that I did not have high hopes for this film initially, but by the end I was riveted in the story of Grace Kelly and the polarization of her heart between the successful career she made for herself and the love she had for her husband and children at a time when it was not feasible for her to have both. I have always enjoyed Nicole Kidman especially after her epic Jimmy Fallon appearance (please tell me you’ve seen this). Her poise and control over the character of Grace Kelly is stunning and real. Great performances across the board and a sneak peek into the seemingly idyllic, albeit actually complicated, fairy tale that is Grace Kelly’s legacy. I highly recommend this film and its on Netflix now, so you should definitely check it out.

TUNES: “Hummingbird” by Miss E

Well, this is another “Orange is the New Black” ending credits song. #sorrynotsorry
I am a sucker for the pseudo-raspy solo voice, quirky lyric, ukulele songs, I must admit. So, at the end of Season 3, Episode 1, when I was mesmerized by this little number, I knew I would eventually need to share about it here with you all.
Eliza Noxon, a.k.a. Miss E, is none other than the daughter of Orange is the New Black creator Jenji Kohan.
Jenji-Kohan-eliza-noxon
To my knowledge, she has not released any other music, but I anxiously await an album of ukulele songs that will satisfy my folky-hipster appetite.

EATS: No Churn Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream
no-churn-mint-chocolate-chip-ice-cream-1
Mint chocolate chip ice cream is where I live.
It is where I derive great power. It is my strength.
ice-cream-all-over
When I was deciding which recipe to share this week, I knew a refreshing ice cream recipe had to be it.
Bonus: there is no need for fancy machinery or churning for this recipe. Just bring your mixer and a big appetite!
Like Mother, Like Daughter shares this 4 ingredient (if you don’t count food coloring, and I don’t) sweet treat that is perfect for these hot days that we seem to be stuck in.
Check out the recipe here!

BLURBS:
image.american-apparel-unisex-tank.white.w760h760b3z1This is so real to me now.

Until next week, cheers!

8 comments on “#FridayFavorites

  1. Always love a good Gilmore GIF!!! Have you listened to the podcast Gilmore Guys yet??

    Like

  2. pechluck (@pechluck)
    July 10, 2015

    HA I had not seen the video with Jimmy and Nicole! Nicole is always so graceful and elegant

    Like

  3. Rachel Lloyd
    July 10, 2015

    Congrats on the new job!!!

    Like

  4. Jen
    July 10, 2015

    Just had a bowl of mint chocolate chip at Rimsky’s the other night – I’d forgotten how much I liked it. We have no ice cream maker so this recipe is perfect. Thank you!

    Like

  5. Jen
    July 10, 2015

    Just had a bowl of mint chocolate chip the other night, I’d forgotten how much I liked it. We don’t have an ice cream maker so this recipe is perfect – thanks!

    Like

  6. Geoff
    July 11, 2015

    Congrats on the barista land. Really want to see “Grace”, but was skeptical at Nicole Kidman’s casting. Not so much about the mint ice cream.

    Like

  7. Marlynn Jayme Schotland
    July 11, 2015

    Congrats on the new gig! One of my favorite jobs ever was working as a barista, back when Starbucks opened its first stores in Boston. Love coffee, and love coffee shops! And as always, love the saying on the shirt in this week’s pick 🙂

    Like

Speak your piece!

