TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

The Ten Most Inspiring Things J.K. Rowling Ever Said

Its certainly no secret that I am a fan of the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling.

As it stands, I have invested in four HP t-shirts, a wand, a fancy box set of the books, a regular paper back set of the books, the films on DVD, the numbered box set featuring the 8-part documentary and all the films on blu-ray, a horcrux replica locket, a Maurader’s style map of the grounds at Hogwarts and a WB Studio tour of the actual sets they shot the films on at Leavesdon Studios just outside of London.

Basically, any Harry Potter memorabilia has me like
Throwing-away-money-GIF
None of this makes me sad, of course, because
i-love-magic
All of this is thanks to the amazing Joanne Rowling.

Without whom we may never have a most magical place to call home.

This incredible woman and her work has influenced me so greatly and permanently. Therefore, I give you:

(in no particular order)

“I was set free, because my greatest fear had already been realized, and I was still alive, and I still had a daughter whom I adored, and I had an old typewriter and a big idea. And so rock bottom became the solid foundation on which I rebuilt my life.”

“Is ‘fat’ really the worst thing a human being can be? Is ‘fat’ worse than ‘vindictive’, ‘jealous’, ‘shallow’, ‘vain’, ‘boring’ or ‘cruel’? Not to me… I’d rather [my daughters] were independent, interesting, idealistic, kind, opinionated, original, funny—a thousand things, before ‘thin.’ And frankly, I’d rather they didn’t give a gust of stinking chihuahua flatulence whether the woman standing next to them has fleshier knees than they do.”

“Whatever money you might have, self-worth really lies in finding out what you do best.”

“I have never been remotely ashamed of having been depressed. Never. What’s to be ashamed of? I went through a really rough time and I am quite proud that I got out of that.”

“Imagination is not only the uniquely human capacity to envision that which is not, and therefore the fount of all invention and innovation. In its arguably most transformative and revelatory capacity, it is the power that enables us to empathize with humans whose experiences we have never shared… We do not need magic to change the world, we carry all the power we need inside ourselves already: we have the power to imagine better.”

“Some failure in life is inevitable. It is impossible to live without failing at something, unless you live so cautiously that you might as well not have lived at all—in which case, you fail by default.”

“If you want to know what a man’s like, take a good look at how he treats his inferiors, not his equals.”
(Goblet of Fire)

“We are only as strong as we are united, as weak as we are divided.”
(Goblet of Fire)

“It is our choices… that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities.”
(Chamber of Secrets)

“As is a tale, so is life: not how long it is, but how good it is, is what matters. I wish you all very good lives.”

Jk-rowling-thumbs-up
Take THAT, Monday!

Until next time, cheers!

23 comments on “The Ten Most Inspiring Things J.K. Rowling Ever Said

  1. She has some of the best quotes! Good ones to kick off the week – thanks! 🙂

    Like

  2. pechluck (@pechluck)
    July 6, 2015

    I love all these quotes- I was not aware of all of these. I am a big fan of not only how she persevered with her idea and dream to such success, but she created a world that has touched so many people internationally in a way other fantasies (Lord of the Rings, Narnia, etc) have not been as successful at. And, she is so eloquent and thoughtful but also outspoken where she takes the time to interact with people and continue to influence, which I love!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      July 7, 2015

      You’re so right! She basically brought up a whole generation of readers by inspiring them with her magical world. I just love her so much! ❤

      Like

  3. catherinemryan
    July 6, 2015

    Oh JK, I heart you! I love it when someone I admire turns out to be an awesome person. 🙂

    Like

  4. thepaddingtonfoodie
    July 6, 2015

    And who can forget JK Rowling’s brilliant 2008 Harvard Commencement address on the Fringe Benefits of Failure and Importance of Imagination. Pure magic.

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      July 7, 2015

      Yes, yes, yes!! I could write about her amazing work (Harry Potter and otherwise) forever. She always has something inspiring to say 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Erin
    July 6, 2015

    Oh my gosh, you went to the actual sets?! I’m so jealous. I really really want to go to the Harry Potter world in Florida, but I might have to wait until it comes to California for an easier/cheaper trip… ugh. I really like that quote about being “fat” – such accurate and yet very inspiring words. I love this blog post so much. 🙂

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      July 7, 2015

      I did!!! Highlight of my life! I am going to Florida next summer and I’m trying to swing being able to go to the Wizarding World there. I can’t WAIT for the one in California. It will be close to where my family lives which means I will be visiting them a lot! haha 🙂

      Like

      • Erin
        July 7, 2015

        Yes me too actually! My aunt lives just like 20 min from Anaheim so she will be seeing me plenty 🙂 I really hope you make it there next summer. I will live vicariously through you!

        Like

        • Truly Cozy
          July 7, 2015

          Ah! Cool!! Maybe we’ll run into each other there some day 😀 In the meantime, I anxiously await its opening!

          Like

  6. Dijana
    July 6, 2015

    She is such inspiration and great influence to young people (and not so young too) . I love your list, and I love everything she represents.

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      July 7, 2015

      She really is a woman for all ages and demographics. Truly inspiring! 🙂

      Like

  7. Sabina
    July 7, 2015

    Love this motivational piece! Her birthday is coming up, right?

    Like

  8. Love her!! I was dying recently when someone told me that there is a conspiracy theory that JK Rowling isn’t real and the person posing as her is just an actress. It was more involved regarding money and the success story, but the bottom line is people are the weirdest.

    -Warren

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      July 7, 2015

      WHAT?? I have not heard this theory before!! It can’t be!

      Like

  9. love this one–>“Some failure in life is inevitable. It is impossible to live without failing at something, unless you live so cautiously that you might as well not have lived at all—in which case, you fail by default.” so very true

    Like

  10. Knotted & Crossed
    July 7, 2015

    Perfect read for this drab and rainy day!

    Like

  11. Such a great list, such an inspiring woman!

    Like

Speak your piece!

Information

This entry was posted on July 6, 2015 by in inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
