TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

#FridayFavorites

Let me a tell you a little story.
On Tuesday evening, I tried to do a good thing.
And then Murphy’s Law (Anything that can go wrong, will.) proceeded to take a giant steaming poo all over my good intentions.

Here’s how it went down:
It was a very, very hot day in the land of no AC and an upstairs apartment. I was in the middle of a Harry Potter marathon (my happy place) when I made the ill-fated decision to go for a walk. Yes, just a brisk little 3-mile jaunt in my SW Portland neighborhood (“Land of the Hills” as we affectionately refer to it). It was upon my near-death by incline not 5 minutes into the walk, heaving in deep, desperate gulps of air, that my phone slipped right out of my sweat-drenched chubby little fingers and came crashing down on the hot, hard pavement along with all of my hopes and dreams for its bright future. Just a teeny tiny crack was all it took to render my old reliable Nexus completely useless.
outraged-Stephen-Colbert-GIFnnnAHHHHHHrrrggghhh!

Let this be a lesson to you all about the perils of walks and being healthy and good intentions. Just don’t.

FLICKS: Hits

Matt Walsh (Role Models / The Hangover) is Dave, an outraged and outspoken citizen of a small town in upstate New York trying to get the attention of his civil servants in the matters of basic city upkeep in the first fiction feature directed by David Cross (Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind / She’s the Man). Dave’s daughter Katelyn (Meredith Hagner, Going the Distance / Men at Work) is desperate for her shot at stardom and is willing to do whatever it takes to get it. When videos of Dave’s overzealous town hall meeting antics go viral online, he gains the advocacy and attention of support groups and media outlets who are anxious to get his story of oppression and neglect on the forefront of the nation’s news feed.

I thought this film was wildly entertaining. The poignant, over-arching commentary here is the ridiculousness of fame and what qualifies certain people as such. I thoroughly enjoyed the performances here and even laughed at myself a bit for some of the ways I exhibit behavior like some of the support groups that join Dave’s cause. I am a huge fan of David Cross (married to my #WomanCrushEveryday Amber Tamblyn) for his comedic performances and his social commentaries.

Definitely check this movie out on Netflix if your looking for a good laugh and let me leave you with this:

“Fame is proof that people are gullible.”
-Ralph Waldo Emerson

TUNES: “O, Children” by Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds

If you’re cool, you know that this song is from the scene in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1 where Harry and Hermione share a tender moment that heart-wrenchingly depicts the utter misery and distress they’ve undergone since their “simple” days as school children.
harry_hermione_danceUgh, my heart. These two. These two and my heart.
There are usually two camps of people; those who thought this scene was pointless and awkward and those who can appreciate the emotion and purpose behind it. In case you didn’t know, this scene is nowhere to be found in the books, but the screenwriter, Steve Clovis, decided to add it in to give these two characters a moment of peace in the midst of the enormous task at hand.
p.s. Jo Rowling says its one of her favorite scenes in the whole series, so HA!

Okay, back to Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds…
The band was formed in Melbourne, Australia in 1983.
The song comes from their 13th (two-disc) studio album titled “Abattoir Blues / The Lyre of Orpheus.”
The album plays a yin-and-yang off itself with disc one (“Abattoir Blues”) being classified as gothic rock and disc two (“The Lyre of Orpheus,” where this song comes from) being much softer and gentler.

EATS: Creamy Cheddar and Spinach Rice

photo by the McCallums Shamrock Patch

photo by the McCallum’s Shamrock Patch

This is not the first time I have featured a recipe from the McCallum’s Shamrock Patch on this blog and I daresay it won’t be the last.
This creamy cheddar and spinach rice is the bomb.com.
It is super simple to make and works as a side dish or main dish.
Check out the recipe here!

BLURBS:
no-we-in-foodThink about this when you make that rice dish. Seriously.

Until next week, cheers!

7 comments on “#FridayFavorites

  1. I love that scene between Harry & Hermione! And I’m laughing at “There is no ‘we’ in FOOD”… laughing, because it’s true! Hands off my food, people! 🙂

    Like

  2. ourdebtfreefamily
    July 3, 2015

    I feel for you and your attempt to do something good and healthy. Sometimes the universe just has other plans for us. I think you were being told that you should continue with the Harry Potter marathon. 🙂 The creamy cheddar and spinach rice looks good! Seriously, put the words “creamy” and “cheddar” in any recipe name, and my ears perk up! Have a wonderful weekend!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      July 7, 2015

      You’re right!!! Its always a good time for a Harry Potter marathon ❤

      Like

  3. catherinemryan
    July 4, 2015

    Oof, sorry about your phone! I hate it when something like that happens. But glad you enjoyed some serious HP—that’s my happy place too!

    Like

  4. Melinda
    July 9, 2015

    Ugh! Sorry about your phone! I hope that you were at least able to go back and go to Harry Potter Land for a while!

    Like

Speak your piece!

