TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

Little Known Facts About the 4th of July

The celebration of American independence from Great Britain as outlined by the Declaration of Independence is fast approaching.

In school, history was, shall we say, not my best subject. I tended to have teachers that were all about the dates and dry informative facts and less about the stories of how people and places develop over time. Whereas my husband, for example, had teachers who wove stories together in their classes and made learning about these things engaging and interesting and because of that he developed a great love for the rich history of our world. I definitely earned my own grades, don’t get me wrong. Now that I’ve done some traveling, I’ve discovered that I get a lot out of a place when I am actually there and can put together the historical significance visually.

All that to say, when it comes to the Fourth of July (or any other historical holiday, really) I am a bit…
colbert-flag… out of touch.

So, I did some “web surfing” (isn’t that what you kids are calling it these days?) and compiled a fun little list of 4th of July facts that I certainly didn’t know about and perhaps you didn’t either.

(c) EricLeslie.com 530-727-8020

photo by (c) EricLeslie.com

1. The modern 50-star flag was created by a 16-year old high school student in Ohio in 1958. Robert G. Heft, along with his fellow classmates, was assigned to redesign the national banner to include recognition of Alaska and Hawaii, both nearing statehood, both of which had nearly gained their statehood at the time. At the time, he only earned a B- on the project, but when his design was sent to Washington D.C. and chosen by President Dwight D. Eisenhower as the new American flag, his teacher raised his grade to an A.
Heft was not the only person to submit a flag design with alternating rows of five and six stars, but he was the only one who actually stitched together a flag and shipped it to D.C. Therefore, his design became the official national flag in 1960.

2. Famous Broadway composer, Irving Berlin, shelved “God Bless America” for 20 years because he didn’t think it was very good. He was asked to compose a comedy/musical show to help raise money for an on-base community house when he was drafted for World War I in 1918. The song was for the finale, but after only a few rehearsals, Berlin decided it was not right and pulled it from the show. It wasn’t until 1938 when “The First Lady of Radio,” Kate Smith, requested a patriotic ballad to sing when World War II broke out that Berlin handed over “God Bless America” and the rest is history.

3. Apple pie did not come from America. “As American as apple pie” may be a bit of a misnomer considering all except one breed of apple is not indigenous to America. It actually came to America by way of the English colonies and yet it is highly prevalent in patriotic festivities and celebrations.

4. The 4th of July also commemorates the deaths of 2 American presidents. The second and third president of the United States died on the same day in the same year 50 years after the day of Independence. Thomas Jefferson passed away July 4th, 1826 at the age of 83 and John Adams passed away a mere 6 hours later at the age of 90.

5. The Declaration of Independence wasn’t actually signed on July 4th, 1776. Well, it was only signed by one of the founding fathers, John Hancock. It wasn’t until August 2nd that all 56 delegates had signed the document and made the declaration official.

(source & source & source & source)

Let’s get out there and show ’em what America is all about!
will-ferrell-patriotic
Until next time, cheers!

18 comments on “Little Known Facts About the 4th of July

  1. errely
    June 30, 2015

    Fun facts that I can use this weekend!

    Like

  2. Ali WIlkinson
    June 30, 2015

    Wow, so what can we say instead of “American as apple pie”!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      June 30, 2015

      A few dozen sarcastic comments flooded my mind when I read your question, but I’ll just stick with “As American as super size fries” 😉

      Like

  3. slowlyglobal
    June 30, 2015

    Your post prompted me to look up other fun facts about July 4th. According to the internet (which is always right, right?!), Jefferson changed the document to read “pursuit of happiness” instead of “pursuit of property”… Good on him! July 4th is also the day the most hot dogs in the US are consumed. 🙂

    (BTW, James Monroe died on July 4, 1831. Three Presidents, what are the odds?)

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      June 30, 2015

      That’s so awesome! Thanks for all the extra facts!! (super creepy about 3 presidents dying on the same day, by the way o_O )

      Like

  4. The Two Savings Sisters
    June 30, 2015

    This is a great post. I love these facts!

    Like

  5. Dijana
    June 30, 2015

    I love this! I am ashamed to admit I didn’t know any of this, so thank you! 🙂

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      June 30, 2015

      Don’t be, Dijana! I didn’t know them either and there’s a good chance I don’t know a lot of other things that you do 😀 haha

      Like

  6. That’s crazy about the flag! And the deaths on the 50 year birthday! Great facts, thanks for sharing!

    Like

  7. These are awesome! I love these little known facts! I knew a couple but didn’t know all of them, and I did always find the death of Presidents on July 4th to be super creepy. Eek!

    Like

  8. I love this! Awesome post. I knew a couple of them and did always find the deaths of several (I thought there were more?) Presidents on the 4th to be super creepy!

    Like

  9. Kristi
    July 1, 2015

    Great work! I didn’t know any of this. The President deaths is creepy. I was on a cruise once for the 4th of July and the Captain died right after the BBQ.

    Like

  10. kelsey
    July 1, 2015

    this is awesome! i didn’t know all of those!

    Like

  11. aubrielegaulta
    July 2, 2015

    Interesting- thanks for sharing.

    Like

  12. Geoff
    July 2, 2015

    Not surprised about the apple pie bit. I don’t think any aspect of our cuisine is genuinely A-MURR-ican . . . ‘cept for high fructose corn syrup and Yellow Dye #5

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      July 2, 2015

      Geoff, YES, haha! Couldn’t have put it better myself. 😀

      Like

Speak your piece!

