TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

Homemade Cold Brew Coffee

Can we all just agree that its too hot and move on??

NOPE.

NOPE.

I’ll never move on.
Its too hot. Its too hot. ITS TOO HOT.
tantrum gifHMPH. 

Which brings me to my actual point…
How the h-e-double-hockey-sticks am I supposed to sip the elixir of life itself (COFFEE.) if it is 100 degrees outside??
I ASK YOU.


Cold brew coffee is remarkably easy to make and one batch can last up to two weeks in your fridge, which makes it the best cup of quick, cold caffeine for anyone who is equal parts sweaty and busy (i.e. me).

Here’s what you’ll need:
freshly ground coffee (coarse)
cold water
coffee filter
wire mesh strainer

Here’s what you’ll do:
1. Using a ratio of 1 (coffee grounds) to 5 (water), stir together your coarsely ground coffee and water. I used 2 cups of coffee grounds and 10 cups of water.
2. Allow it to soak overnight in the fridge for at least 12 hours.
3. Place a coffee filter inside a wire mesh strainer and pour the mixture over it to strain into a large pitcher.
4. Dilute your cold brew toddy (that’s what you call what you’ve just strained!) with cold water to a ratio that is fitting to your desired strength of coffee. Traditionally, folks use a basic half and half ratio. Half toddy, half cold water, ALL yummy.
5. ENJOY!

Let me hit you with some knowledge.
Cold brew has more caffeine than drip coffee because caffeine is the last thing to dissolve into the water when you brew/soak it. When it soaks for a minimum of 12 hours, all that caffeine is fully extracted from the coffee.
ALSO, because there is no heat applied to the grounds, the bitter flavor is not released from the beans, which leaves you with a less astringent/acidic coffee.
yeah science
Until next time, cheers!

14 comments on “Homemade Cold Brew Coffee

  1. Ali WIlkinson
    June 29, 2015

    This looks great AND then you don’t have to make coffee in the morning!

    Like

  2. catherinemryan
    June 29, 2015

    I’m not a coffee drinker, but I’ve been making iced tea because it’s simply too hot for, well, the hot version. Stay cool, friend!

    Like

  3. Pech
    June 29, 2015

    Seriously you are a master at always finding the most fun but yet perfect gifs to add fun notes to your posts!

    Like

  4. Thanks for sharing!! Hope you are staying cool.

    Like

  5. Blog To Taste
    June 29, 2015

    Thanks so much for this- I had heard about cold brew, and wanted to share it withthe coffee drinkers in my life (I don’t drink coffee, but I love making it for others). Now I know just how easy it is, and am literally yelling it out to my hubby in the other room right now 🙂

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      June 30, 2015

      Haha, that is so awesome!! And bravo to you for not being under the crutch of caffeine! 😀

      Like

  6. Marlynn Jayme Schotland
    June 30, 2015

    I love cold brew, but I will still drink hot coffee in the morning and then cold brew in the afternoon. I’ve never tried to make my own but this looks great and I think I’ll try it! Thanks!

    Like

  7. kelsey
    June 30, 2015

    that looks ridiculously good in this heat!

    Like

Speak your piece!

Information

This entry was posted on June 29, 2015 by in recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
