TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

Hot Coconut Oil Hair Treatment

One of my all-time favorite pastimes is doing weird stuff to my hair.
You saw with the green.
green-hair
Now its jet black with a “squid ink” blue glow (yes, glow.) because maintaining a vibrant enough color on that streak of blonde is more costly and time consuming than I am ultimately willing to concede to.
self-absorbed-bobs-burgers
Recently, I have come to a crossroads in my hair journey.
If I keep dying it, I can look forward to fried hair or something fun like early baldness.
OR I could keep hacking at it with my sewing scissors until I am effectively bald.

You know what though?
We don’t all have Britney’s bone structure.
britney-baldI simply could not pull off this look.

So, I am taking a temporary moratorium from doing *all the things* to my hair and, instead, focusing on giving back a little… to my hair.
such-a-good-friend
As you may know from my other hair treatment post, I don’t hold back when it comes to home remedies for frizz and there is always something new to try.

Hot-Coconut-Oil-Hair-Treatment-TrulyCozyBlog
Here’s what you’ll need:
1/2 to 1 cup coconut oil
saran wrap
hand towel

Here’s what you’ll do:
1. Heat the coconut oil in microwave safe bowl until it is melted. Mine took between 20-25 seconds.
2. Use a comb to evenly distribute the melted oil throughout your hair, especially at the ends.
3. Wrap your hair tightly in saran wrap and drape a moistened, heated towel over the saran wrap for 30 minutes to allow for maximum absorption. I had to re-warm my towel every 5-8 minutes to ensure maximum heat retention.
4. Shampoo and rinse hair in cold water. Try to avoid wrapping your hair tightly in a towel to dry. Wrapping your wet hair in a t-shirt or allowing it to mostly air dry will help prevent frizz and breakage.

Before-After-Hot-Coconut-Oil-Hair-Treatment-TrulyCozyBlog
My favorite thing about this hair treatment, besides how soft my hair felt post-shower/blow-dry, was how unbelievably attractive I found that I looked in saran wrap.
saran-wrap-hair-treatment
I mean, wow.
kristin-wiig

Until next time, cheers!

13 comments on “Hot Coconut Oil Hair Treatment

  1. I love coconut oil for my hair! Plus, I love your post – It’s cracked me up. Thanks!

    Like

  2. errely
    June 23, 2015

    I LOVE coconut oil for my hair, plus I loved your post 🙂

    Like

  3. Great results! I use coconut for EVERYTHING and I did try it once in my hair but I had a hard time rinsing it out. I used the no-poo method (baking soda/water shampoo with apple cider vinegar/water conditioner) for 6 or 8 months but it became too harsh for my scalp, but now I do a soothing vinegar/water rinse with my regular organic shampoo. Isn’t it cool to experiment with natural, simple beauty methods?!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      June 23, 2015

      I know what you mean! I did the no-poo and had the same results after a few months. As for this treatment, I found I was able to rinse it out enough to not have ever-greasy hair (which has happened before with other hair treatments). I honestly believe that results are different person to person. Some people swear by no-poo, but it wasn’t for me. Thanks for sharing your experience, Suzannah! 🙂

      Like

  4. Marlynn @UrbanBlissLife
    June 23, 2015

    Haha – I think you’re going to bring the saran wrap look to the streets! 🙂 I’ve never tried coconut oil for my hair but am seriously going to try it now. Summer fries my crazy hair and I love what coconut oil does. Thanks for the tips!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      June 23, 2015

      You and I are on the same wavelength. Time to set a trend! 😀

      Like

  5. Marlynn Jayme Schotland
    June 23, 2015

    Definitely trying this. I love coconut oil but have never tried it for my hair. Thanks for the tips!

    Like

  6. Pâte à Chew
    June 23, 2015

    I’ve never used coconut oil on my hair but you are the 100th person telling me to do so, so maybe it’s time I try it!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      June 23, 2015

      I think DIY hair treatments have different effects from person-to-person, but its worth a try! I certainly love what it does for my hair 🙂

      Like

  7. Funny Nanny
    June 23, 2015

    I am doing this all the time and it is amazing! I usually heat up coconut oil and leave it over night on my hair. I do that 2x a month and my hair is still there ( with all the processing I do – that’s miracle)
    Thanks for sharing your tips, your hair looks amazing.

    Like

  8. kelsey
    June 23, 2015

    this is awesome! i need to try it!

    Like

  9. pechluck (@pechluck)
    June 23, 2015

    How fun the photo with the Saran Wrap, very cute! 😀

    Like

  10. Susannah
    June 23, 2015

    Ooo… I want to try this!!! Thanks for making hair care so fun. 😉

    Like

Speak your piece!

Information

This entry was posted on June 23, 2015 by in beauty, diy and tagged , , , , , , , .
