TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

ACV & Epsom Salt Foot Soak

Can we all just agree that I like to overshare?
hopeless-awkward-chandler-gif
Let me just lay this out…
My feet are icky.

For starters, ever since I could start making really good choices for myself, I’ve had this thing where I can’t pass up a good deal on shoes even if they are too small for my feet. (note: I don’t do this anymore.)
Its like foot binding experience, except not on purpose and I only have myself to blame.
So, now my feet have these forever-bruises that never ever go away.

Also, now that its super hot, I can’t wear the leather boots that I have come to rely on everyday of the year that its under 70 degrees, so I wear flip flops and develop calluses as wide as the earth and as deep as the sea.
threw-up-in-my-mouth
With all of that in mind, I decided to try out a little DIY on my poor feetsies.

ACVEpsomSaltFootSoak
I heard about this foot soak on Pinterest (obvi.) and decided since I had all the things and some time to kill.

Here’s what you’ll need:
1 c apple cider vinegar (ACV)
1 c Epsom salt

Here’s what you’ll do: 
1. Combine the ingredients in a small foot tub and soak your feet for 10-15 minutes.
2. Use a pumice stone to scrape off the dead skin.
FootSoak-BeforeAfter
FootSoak-BEFOREandAFTER
After scrubbing my feet with the pumice stone, I found that the calluses had softened some and a significant amount of dead skin was gone, but I am not totally sold on the product.
This method is boasted as one of the best treatments, although I only found its effects to be minimal. I have to wonder if soaking my feet in warm water would end up having the same results.

Here’s what I did learn about soaking your feet in ACV and/or Epsom salt: 
– Soaking your feet in an ACV/water solution every day for ten days can help relieve the symptoms of athlete’s foot.
– Allow your toes to soak for 15 minutes a day in an ACV/water solution with a splash of Listerine to cure toenail fungus.
– If your feet are tired and sore, soak them in 1 cup of Epsom salt, 1 cup of sea salt and 1 cup of vinegar (throw in some lavender essential oil if you have it!) along with plenty of water as hot as your feet can stand for relaxation and relief.
(source)

At the end of the day, I’m glad that I took a little time to show my feet some TLC. In the meantime, having my feet be any less scratchy and dry is a win for me!
mini-wave
Until next time, cheers!

11 comments on “ACV & Epsom Salt Foot Soak

  1. Ali WIlkinson
    June 15, 2015

    I am so trying this. I won’t get into the details of how disgusting my feet are, but a combination of wide feet plus around 40 miles of running a week = nastiness.

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      June 15, 2015

      All I caught there is that you run 40 miles a week… :-o!

      Like

  2. Pech
    June 15, 2015

    Hahaha I have mixed feelings on sering foot closeups this early in the morning but you provide good tips. I’ve never done the Epsom salts at home, only happens at the salon during a pedicure because the next step (nails) is much faster done by a professional. But no reason to only foot soak outside the home, especially in relieving soreness from new shoes 9r apparently my feet forgot how it feels to wear last summers sandals

    Like

  3. catherinemryan
    June 15, 2015

    Apple cider vinegar is pretty much a miracle worker. Also, FYI, I got a pedicure a few days ago and they did a hot paraffin treatment as part of the standard pedi (!!!) and my feet feel sooooo nice now!

    Like

  4. I’m doing this!! It is Summer and my feet are a hot mess! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

  5. Melinda
    June 15, 2015

    I so, so, SO need to do this! I get scolded by my nail tech every time I go in for a pedicure!

    Like

  6. emmygirl
    June 16, 2015

    Great idea! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  7. kelsey
    June 16, 2015

    i need to do this! oh man!

    Like

  8. The Two Savings Sisters
    June 17, 2015

    I just posted about the uses of ACV today but I didn’t know this! I have vile runners feet so will be trying this asap! Can’t wait!

    Like

  9. love epsom salt soaks for feet and the entire body

    Like

  10. Bonnie
    June 19, 2015

    My feet get gross after I wear only sandals for a long time. I’m totally with you. After a shower, if I use a pumice bar (I get mine from Sally’s for super cheap) all over my callouses and gross skin, it really has made a big difference. My MIL goes to bed with vaseline on her feet (and puts socks on) and she claims that gives her super smooth feet. Sounds kinda slimy, but I bet it works too. 🙂

    Like

Speak your piece!

Information

This entry was posted on June 15, 2015 by in diy and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
