TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

#Friday Favorites

Its officially been over one week since we have had a single dirty dish in our sink for longer than about two hours.
awestruck-gif
I am not even joking.
Maybe I am getting ahead of myself pontificating about this all over the world wide web, or maybe I just need a little accountability.
So, if I come back here next Friday and say that our house is a mess of catastrophic proportions, it is your duty to be good little internet trolls and berate me publicly about the choices I make in the privacy of my own home.
I’m counting on you.
keepitrealhomiesgif
That being established, let the weekend fun begin!

FLICKS: Liberal Arts

Josh Radnor (“How I Met Your Mother”) stars and directs in this film about a man who is far removed by time and space from his glory days of college life at a liberal arts school in Ohio. He is summoned back to his old campus by a favorite former professor (Richard Jenkins, Burn After Reading / Step Brothers) affording him a much needed break from the “adult life” he is living out in New York City. He is introduced to a quirky and confident sophomore named Zibby (Elizabeth Olsen, Peace, Love & Misunderstanding / Avengers: Age of Ultron) and they spark an unusual, albeit strangely comforting, relationship. The two must make a decision about the trajectory of their relationship based on the strong connection they both innately feel towards each other while not ignoring the reality of their very age and circumstances.

Any other liberal arts graduates in the house?

"ooh-ooh!"

“ooh-ooh!”

I love how accurately this film portrays the feel and expression of a liberal arts campus, which may have partially been why I loved it so much. Its been sitting in my queue for months now and I just decided to give it a shot because I was feeling nostalgic for the good ol’ days of college. It ended up surprising me with a sincerity about the characters that felt very natural and genuine.
Although I have never found myself in the throes of a relationship with a man 16 years my senior, I can relate to the draw of making large life decisions based on my gut feeling even when that gut may be led by, let’s say, less than reliable motivations. Its a challenge for me to take my time with decisions. My tendency is to jump in quick and figure out what the h-e-double-hockey-sticks to do later. In that way, the movie had some poignant moments that stuck out most to me.

“Nobody feels like an adult. It’s the world’s dirty secret.”

“I believe in consequences.” “No, you believe in guilt.” “Maybe. But guilt before we act is called morality.”

“I sometimes feel… like there’s this older, wiser me watching over this 19-year-old rough draft, who’s full of all this potential, but has to live more to catch up with that other self somehow. And I know I’ll get there. It’s just sometimes I think I want to rush the process, you know?”

TUNES: “All is Well (Goodbye, Goodbye)” by Radical Face

Radical Face is a pseudonym for Ben Cooper who began recording under the name in 2003.
The music is like a hybrid of Coldplay, The Lumineers and magic. 100% awesome, I’m telling you.
This song is from the 2011 album “The Family Tree: The Roots,” which is part one of a three-part series.
Its the kind of contemplative music you would play in the car with the windows rolled down, cruising down a long strip of empty road, feeling a warm breeze against your skin and the sun on your face.
driving-convertible-gifYa feel me?

EATS: Cajun Meatloaf

photo by Kitchen Belleicious

photo by Kitchen Belleicious

We had Cajun meatloaf for the first time ever this week and we are better humans for it.
I have only ever had the slightly sweetened, ketchup-covered  meatloaf.
I do love me some ketchup, but before now, I had believed that was the only way to enjoy a loaf of meat, but boyyy was I mistaken.
Kitchen Belleicious has a superb recipe for Cajun meatloaf with a balsamic mustard glaze that will knock your socks off.
Check it out here!

BLURBS: 
thinking-about-my-summer-body-but-also-thinking-about-tacos
The two usually go hand-in-hand.

Until next week, cheers!

11 comments on “#Friday Favorites

  1. Renée ♥
    June 12, 2015

    Great post! First, congrats on the dish thing – that’s my very least favorite household chore. Getting them done asap does seem to make the task slightly least undesirable. Just slightly though.

    Thanks for the review of Liberal Arts, too. It looks like my kind of movie. (I attended a liberal arts college as well, so I can relate.) I so appreciate that quote about feeling there’s a older, wiser draft watching over you – decades out of college, I still get that feeling sometimes.

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      June 13, 2015

      Haha thanks, Renee! You should check out the movie, its great!

      Like

  2. Pech
    June 12, 2015

    You always find the perfect sayings on foodie tops! You have also reminded me I haven’t had meatloaf in ages and I need to correct that.

    Like

  3. Ali WIlkinson
    June 12, 2015

    Ha ha ha! That shirt!

    Like

  4. ourdebtfreefamily
    June 13, 2015

    I always love your movie recommendations so I know that I’ll love watching “Liberal Arts.” Can’t wait to watch it! And I’m going to check out the Cajun meatloaf recipe, too! Thanks! Have a great weekend!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      June 16, 2015

      Thanks, Monica! I’m glad someone else is enjoying all my movie reviews and recommendations 🙂

      Like

  5. Aubrie LeGault
    June 13, 2015

    Thanks for the movie recommendation- I had no idea about this movie and it looks amazing. Can’t wait.

    Like

  6. That is very impressive – clean dishes in expedient time; this is a goal we have yet to aspire to…

    The Cajun Meatloaf sounds fantastic – now if only my family would enjoy a little more spice 🙂

    Like

Speak your piece!

