TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

Foods That Boost Energy (That You May Not Have Known About)

Food is a funny thing.
I eat when I’m hungry or sometimes when I am bored, but I don’t always think of having an energy-boosting snack when I am feeling totally drained and exhausted.
I know there are some obvious foods that are supposed to give you energy.
Nut butters, whole grains (like steel cut or rolled oats), chia seeds, etc.
Its not that I don’t love these foods (because, really, I do), but its always nice to have some other options just in case…
amy-poehler-weird-and-healthy
I find that I like to be well-informed as to the “why” and “how” on most things, you know, middle child syndrome.

Here’s what I found:
– Eating the right combination of food will help maximize their energy-boosting properties, such as: a fruit or veggie with a whole grain, a lean protein, a plant based fat (e.g. coconut oil, seeds, avocado) and an herb or spice.
– Iron may help women feel more energized, but nearly 10% between the ages of 20 and 49 are iron-deficient. This can cause fatigue and hinder mental and physical endurance.
– Iron is also necessary for delivering oxygen to cells and a deficiency has been shown to decrease immunity.
– Eating iron-rich foods (e.g. beans, lentils and spinach) alongside vitamin-C rich foods (e.g. kiwis, broccoli, bell peppers, citrus fruits) can help with iron absorption in the body.
– Eating real, wholesome foods over processed foods will help boost energy levels tremendously.
– Drinking too much alcohol or caffeine and skipping meals are the quickest ways to zap your energy.
– Eating fat-free dressing with your salad isn’t necessarily the way to go. Your body needs to absorb some fat in order to properly absorb the nutrients and antioxidants from the veggies and/or fruit in your salad.
(source)

Foods-That-Boost-Energy
Dark Chocolate
Eating at least 70% dark chocolate provides extra magnesium and iron to keep your energy levels high.

Ginger Tea
This is a great replacement for caffeine as it is filled with loads of antioxidants that help sustain your energy level. For best results, use real ginger.

Sweet Potatoes, Yams & Winter Squash
The fiber that these starchy vegetables contain allow a slow release of energy that will allow you to stay alert longer. Except in the case of spaghetti squash and butternut kabocha, you can consume the skin for added nutrients.

Brussel Sprouts
These veggies are filled with selenium and sulfur, which help support liver detoxification and optimal organ function for increased energy levels. They also happen to be very low calorie while still having a high water and fiber content to help you feel full longer.

Honey
Honey is great for a quick boost of energy as well as a slow release of energy. Its glucose can be absorbed immediately while its fructose is absorbed over time. It is also an amazing source of carbohydrates (with 17 grams per tablespoon!), making it perfect for anyone on the go.

Peppermint Essential Oil (not really “food,” I know.)
The strong smell of peppermint has been shown to stimulate our trigeminal nerve, which enhances the focus of our thoughts and brain and can provide clarity to our thinking. The quickest way to reap these benefits is by placing a drop of oil on the nape of the neck and around the temples, but you can also brew up some peppermint tea to give you a boost of energy.

Water (Also not food. Sheesh.)
Being that almost 70% of our bodies are made up of water, it is vital for proper intestinal and organ function. It also aids in kidney and liver function, which encourages gastrointestinal regularity. When everything is functioning well on the inside, we can have extra energy on the outside; its that simple!

(source & source)

food-energy-andy-dwyer-cookie-gif
Except try some of the other stuff on my list before all the nachos and cookies because sugar crash.

Until next time, cheers!

18 comments on “Foods That Boost Energy (That You May Not Have Known About)

  1. Love all of the foods you recommend. Thanks for the tip on combining good foods at the same time!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      June 2, 2015

      Yeah, its interesting because I had never really thought of the importance of eating certain foods together, ha!
      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  2. ladiesinnavy
    June 2, 2015

    yum! and i LOVE many of these foods! great tips!

    Like

  3. pechluck
    June 2, 2015

    I can now rationalize buying yet another big box of 1 lb of spinach, which I eat by myself… I can go through one in just a few days!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Truly Cozy
      June 16, 2015

      Girl, I can rationalize that for you right now: spinach is GOOD! 😀

      Like

  4. lisenaugle
    June 2, 2015

    Good tips!

    Like

  5. aubrielegault
    June 2, 2015

    On this rainy Tuesday I should eat/drink/use all those items. Zzzzzz. Maybe I’ll just go into the kitchen and chug some honey. hahahah. Thanks for the info.

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      June 16, 2015

      I’m glad I can impart such sound health advice. Chug on, friend! 🙂

      Like

  6. Geoff
    June 3, 2015

    I agree with everything . . . except the ginger tea. (Sorry to say.) Maybe it’s just me, but – while I like ginger infusions – they tend to have the exact opposite effect; relaxant. (And don’t even get me started on the heartburn.) A peppier, non-caffeinated herb would probably be green rooibos or tulsi.

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      June 3, 2015

      Geoff, I’m really glad to have you of all people weigh in on that particular list item. Thanks so much for your input! Cheers 🙂

      Like

  7. ladyloudpants
    June 3, 2015

    During moments when I’m particularly struggling, I, too, apply a drop of peppermint oil to each of my temples. It works so well! I also love sweet potatoes and fried eggs for lunch.

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      June 16, 2015

      Sweet potatoes are good at all times! Yum, yum, yum 🙂

      Like

  8. Great tips!

    Like

  9. ourdebtfreefamily
    June 3, 2015

    This is a great list! I’m pinning to reference later. My nutritionist friend recommended that I eat a tablespoon of honey before my workouts each morning. Now I know why!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      June 16, 2015

      Oh that’s good! Glad someone with far more extensive knowledge of this stuff than me can vouch for its benefits. Cheers 🙂

      Like

Speak your piece!

Information

This entry was posted on June 2, 2015 by in healthy, homesteading and tagged , , , , , , .
