TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

#Friday Favorites

There are few things that make me more happy than knowing I have been so very productive throughout the week and there is nothing left to do except relax.
Just knowing the house is in order, the blog is caught up, the bills are paid, grocery shopping is done and laundry is not only clean, but completely put away… its just pure bliss!
This weekend isn’t going to be like that.
blanch-damn-gif
To be honest, its not too bad. Mainly just behind on laundry. Whatever, it happens.

I actually spent much of this week in an exceptionally good mood/in disbelief at all of the positive feedback I have been receiving from my post on Monday.
This-is-the-best-emma-stoneSo, as far as I’m concerned, let the laundry pile up.
Well… until I run out of the important stuff.
Undapants-Boy-Meets-World
Okay, I’m done.

FLICKS: You’re Not You

Kate (Hilary Swank, Million Dollar Baby / P.S. I Love You) is a successful designer and classical pianist whose whole world is thrown for a loop when she is diagnosed with ALS. After only a year and a half, all semblance of the life she and her husband, Evan (Josh Duhamel, Safe Haven / Transformers), had built together has quickly deteriorated along with her muscle strength and motor skills. Seeking some sense of control over her own life, Kate seeks new help in the vivacious and fiercely independent Bec (Emmy Rossum, The Phantom of the Opera / Mystic River). Initially, Bec is there to help Kate live a normal day-to-day life, but in the end, they help each other and learn to make the most of their lives one day at a time.

Even watching the trailer for this film makes me well up. When a movie can get a real, honest, friendship down right, I am impressed. Its one thing to depict a romantic relationship… its been done.
Show me a pair of people who love each other and also sometimes can’t stand each other and, yet, would always be there for each other even when there is no sex or marriage at stake and then show it to me without all the over-exaggerated jokes and innuendos and NOW we are seeing something truly special.
Don’t get me wrong, I love a good buddy comedy, but allowing the friendship to be authentic and true to life allows me, as a viewer, to get in touch with a different set of emotions that take the whole movie-watching experience to a whole other level. That is why I am telling you about this movie now and also why I have very few silly comedies (again, not that I don’t enjoy those also) on my #FridayFavorites.

TUNES: “Ain’t Nobody’s Problem” by the Lumineers

The Lumineers may really be into the whole group shout/singing (because they do it in almost every song) but I never get sick of them.
Their songs strike a chord (that’s a little musical pun there for ya) with me that keeps me coming back for more.
When I finally got their self-titled album, I was not disappointed by one single song and, honestly, I cannot say that for very many albums.
This video is from a live recording because its always kind of fun to watch a band live and these guys do not disappoint.
I was excited to make the observation that Neyla Pekarek, the band’s cellist and vocalist, bears a striking resemblance to Maisie Williams (Arya Stark of Game of Thrones). Then, as I began searching Google for images of the two that would best support my claim, I found that the internet has bested me once again and already drew this connection.

Look, look! Maisie on the left, Neyla on the right

Look, look! Maisie on the left, Neyla on the right, like whoaaa

Here’s something you won’t find on the internet! (unless you use Wikipedia)
Neyla joined the band by responding to a craigslist ad!
Let’s just call that a gamble that really paid off.

EATS: Sweet BBQ Sauce

photo by The McCallum's Shamrock Patch

photo by The McCallum’s Shamrock Patch

Its summer. Maybe not according to the calendar, but I sat out in the sun today for ten minutes and I sweated right through my shorts, so I’m going to go ahead and declare its summer.
With that comes a lot of BBQ’s and really good life choices.
BBQ-Ribs-Gif
The McCallum’s Shamrock Patch has a really great recipe for sweet BBQ sauce that you need for grilling season.
When it comes to BBQ sauce I am undoubtedly a sweet, honey girl myself.
Nothing finishes off a good burger or rack of ribs like some darn good sauce and this is definitely it.
Head over here for the recipe!

BLURBS:
run-like-youre-being-chased-by-crippling-student-loansHA… HAHA.
crying-or-laughing
Until next week, cheers!

16 comments on “#Friday Favorites

  1. I love these Friday Favorite posts, I feel like we’d get along really well, haha! That movie sounds interesting (in a bring-your-kleenex kind of way), and I totally NEED that tank!! Happy Friday!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      May 29, 2015

      The movie is SO good, its on Netflix currently if you are interested (Kleenex would be a good idea)!
      Thanks so much, Sarah! 🙂

      Like

  2. I love your Friday Favorites posts and feel like we’d get along great! That movie sounds really interesting, in a bring-all-the-kleenex kind if way, and I totally need that tank! Happy Friday!!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      June 16, 2015

      I’m sure we would, Sarah! Hope you get a chance to check out that movie, and yes you will definitely need some Kleenex. 🙂

      Like

  3. Melinda
    May 29, 2015

    Ha ha! I love that tank top!

    Like

  4. Rachel Lloyd
    May 29, 2015

    I’m so jealous!!! My Friday is still jam packed with things to do 😦

    Like

  5. pechluck
    May 29, 2015

    That movie preview alone made me teary eyed too!

    Like

  6. ourdebtfreefamily
    May 30, 2015

    I so look forward to your #Friday Favorites posts! You never fail with a great movie recommendation, and you never fail to make me laugh! I’m glad you had such a great week! Your post on Monday was so real and vulnerable. I appreciate you opening up and sharing that with us. I’ve struggled with my weight as long as I can remember, and the times when I’ve had the most success with weight loss is when I focus on healthier habits rather than losing the weight itself. You are such an inspiration! I applaud you for always being so genuine. And I want to celebrate with you when you pay off your student loans. 🙂 I hope it doesn’t take you more than ten years like it took me. Have a wonderful weekend!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      June 1, 2015

      Wow, what a gift you’ve given me. Affirmation is totally my love language! It makes it a little easier to put myself out there when I have great feedback like yours. Thank you for all your support. (and I really hope I can pay off my loans ASAP too!)

      Like

  7. I, too, love your Friday favorites! She really does look similar to Maisie Williams… crazy having dopplegangers out there in the world!

    Like

  8. Stacee T.
    May 30, 2015

    LOL Why is it that we can never get caught up on laundry?! Someone needs to invent a machine that washes, dries (correctly to requirements for each garment) and then folds or hangs up each piece. Sigh… someday! 😉

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      June 1, 2015

      Oh, girl. You show me where I can invest in something like this and I am ALL over it. How great would that be?! 😀

      Like

Speak your piece!

