TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

2 Ingredient DIY Air Freshener

This week has been a bit of a struggle to keep the sink free and clear of dirty dishes.
And by “a bit of a struggle” I mean I am questioning what the bottom of the sink looks like anymore because it has been so long since I’ve seen it.

I think the worst part of having dirty dishes in the sink is the smell of stale food.
No, I know that’s the worst part, actually.

Usually, I will boil some water with vanilla extract and a bit of cinnamon to deodorize our home, but I wanted to try something that won’t cause me to have more dishes to clean than I already do.

Which brings me to…

2-Ingredient-Air-Freshener-DIY-Truly-Cozy
Here’s what you’ll need:Β 
2-3 Tbsp baking powder
8-10 drops essential oils (in a scent of your choice, lemon works great!)
a small mason jar
a small piece of cloth

Here’s what you’ll do:
1. Put the baking soda into your jar and sprinkle the essential oil drops on top.
2. Replace the solid metal lid with the piece of cloth and secureΒ it on the jar with the screw band.
3. Place the jar in a malodorous location of your choice.

2-Ingredient-Air-Freshener-DIY-Truly-Cozy-2

The baking soda will help absorb the icky smells while the essential oils release a fresh scent to help cut the stink.

If it needs a little refreshing, just give it a gentle shake or add a few more drops of essential oils.

Now, all that’s left to do is address the dishes issue.
tyrion-lannister-pour-wine
Cheers!

20 comments on “2 Ingredient DIY Air Freshener

  1. kelseymalie
    May 26, 2015

    awesome tip! i can’t leave dishes in the sink for any period of time longer than a few hours! can’t have a bad food smell in the air!
    http://www.kelseymalie.com

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      May 26, 2015

      We’re working our way up to that kind of discipline! Its a process, haha πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. catherinemryan
    May 26, 2015

    Our dishwasher broke at the end of last week, so I feel you on the dishes issue! Speaking of, maybe I’ll go wash a few while my daughter is *miraculously* sleeping in…

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      May 26, 2015

      A child sleeping in truly is one of the biggest miracles a parent can hope for… πŸ˜‰

      Like

  3. pechluck (@pechluck)
    May 26, 2015

    Not only does the old food smell really bother me, but I remember dorm rooms and apartments where any crumb of any kind on the floor or in the sink could draw bugs, so NO! Nothing lasts more than 12 hours usually in my sink!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      May 26, 2015

      I know what you mean, we’re still living in dorm times (sort of) haha! I wish we had your dedication. πŸ™‚ Some day…

      Like

  4. Ali WIlkinson
    May 26, 2015

    I am totally trying this for the room with the kitty litter.

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      May 26, 2015

      That’s a really good use for something like this! πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. Melinda
    May 27, 2015

    Now that is a DIY I could actually do (and I probably should!) Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      June 16, 2015

      Its easy enough to just give it a shot and at least see how you like it, for sure. Hope it works out for you! πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. Emily Canibano
    May 27, 2015

    Love natural remedies – store bought fresheners can be overwhelming. Our worst smell this week was food left in a lunch bag over the whole week. Bleck!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      June 16, 2015

      That’s totally my husband’s move, haha! I can’t stand when lunches get left in their bags all week, ick!

      Like

  7. ourdebtfreefamily
    May 27, 2015

    Thanks for this! I much prefer natural home remedies over the chemical-filled sprays.

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      June 16, 2015

      I agree! They are so much less overwhelming and toxic.

      Like

  8. thepaddingtonfoodie
    May 27, 2015

    Now that’s a very clever idea.

    Like

  9. stephysweetbakes
    May 28, 2015

    Yup, I love these kind of posts, thank you for sharing 😊

    Like

  10. Lena
    June 13, 2015

    Love love love the idea! A friend of mine made an oil infused scrub that was packaged similarly. This would make for a wonderful gift!

    Lena

    http://www.zoyaandme.com

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      June 16, 2015

      Ooh, that sounds interesting! Thanks for stopping by, Lena! πŸ™‚

      Like

Speak your piece!

Information

This entry was posted on May 26, 2015 by in diy and tagged , , , , , .
