TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

Oven Roasted Chicken

Have you ever had those days where everything is going your way and you feel like you are the actual queen of the world?
mother-of-dragons“Give me any project, I will conquer it. Give me any recipe, I will slay it.”

And then there are other days where you just need to keep things simple because you’re way too busy for this crap and ain’t nobody got time for that.
boil-water
ANECDOTE:
In an effort to save some time and money during our grocery shopping for the week, I was considering grabbing a pre-roasted chicken from the deli. This way, I could just chop/shred it up when I got home and have it on hand for various different recipes throughout the week. Priced it out and found out I could buy a raw whole fryer that’s three times the size and three-quarters of the price. Never one to sacrifice a good deal for convenience, I resolved to figure out a way to get this thing cooked ASAP in the simplest way possible.
I am but a simple woman, in need of some basic cubed/shredded chicken.
Brining? Stuffing? Frying?
no-thank-you-tina-feyI need simple. SIMPLE, I TELL YOU.

I turned to Alex’s “How to Cook Everything” cookbook.
I bought it for him last Christmas because he is super into food, but can’t boil an egg to save his life, bless his little heart.
Sure enough, within the pages of this food basics bible, I found my solution!

Fast-Easy-Oven-Roasted-Chicken
Here’s what you’ll need: 
whole chicken (mine was 5.75 lbs, but you can use any size)
2-3 Tbsp olive oil
salt
pepper

*FUN FACT: If your chicken is labeled “whole fryer” it can be fried or roasted, but a “whole roaster” cannot be fried, because they are too large to be cooked all the way through via frying.

Here’s what you’ll do:
1.  Place an oven-safe skillet on the center rack of your oven and set it to preheat to 400 degrees. I used our cast iron skillet.

2. Rinse the chicken well in cold water including the inside after removing the neck/giblets. (You can save these things to make a stock later if you want to dispel any lingering doubt in your reigning world royalty status.) Pat the chicken dry with a paper towel.
*Don’t remove the skin. It keeps the good juices in. If you don’t want to eat it, you can peel it off and toss it after the bird finishes roasting.

3.Coat the chicken with olive oil and a hefty sprinkling of salt and pepper.

4. Once the oven finishes preheating and the skillet is piping hot, lay the chicken breast side up and bake it for approximately 10 minutes per pound. I roasted mine for an hour.

5. Carefully remove the skillet and check the internal temperature with a meat thermometer at the thigh (between the leg and breast). It should read at least 160 degrees to be thoroughly cooked.

photo by the Kitchn

photo by the Kitchn

6. Allow the chicken to cool before attempting to disassemble it or else, you will burn your fingers and die.

Okay, I’m not trying to brag or anything, but now I have 4+ pounds of juicy chicken meat to do with what I please and it only took 5 minutes of prep and one hour of cooking time.
nick-miller-fist-pump
By the way, did you know: 

Poultry increases serotonin levels in your brain, which helps eliminate stress and enhances your mood (think of a comforting bowl of chicken noodle soup, mmm).

High levels of the naturally occurring amino acid homocysteine can result in artery blockages but can be avoided by ensuring your body has enough B-6 vitamins which are found in chicken.

Chicken is jam-packed with the antioxidant selenium, which supports strong immune, hormone, metabolism and thyroid function.

High levels of niacin can be found in chicken, which helps regulate cholesterol and blood sugar levels.

Retinol, alpha/beta-carotene, and lycopene (all originating from vitamin A) promote healthy eyesight and can also be found in chicken.

So, what are you waiting for?
chicken-eating-ron-weasley
Until next time, cheers!

19 comments on “Oven Roasted Chicken

  1. Susannah
    May 11, 2015

    This is awesome!!! Anything that’s fast and easy in the kitchen is right up my alley!! There’s no gourmet cooking with a six month old. 😉

    Like

  2. I love Roast Chicken! It is always my go-to easy dinner.

    Like

  3. Ali WIlkinson
    May 11, 2015

    this is much simpler than my recipe which requires turning the chicken over and lowering the heat at some point. I’ll give this one a try. Incidentally I read somewhere on the Internet (so it must be true) that you actually don’t need to rinse the chicken and that doing so can cause little sprays of salmonella to appear all over your kitchen. Not sure if that’s true but thought I’d pass it along.

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      May 11, 2015

      I’m sure that’s accurate! Thanks so much for the tip, Ali 🙂 I will be sure to share that info from now on. Cheers!

      Like

  4. Ali WIlkinson
    May 11, 2015

    This looks great and is much simpler than my go to recipe which requires turning the chicken over and turning down the heat halfway through. Incidentally I read somewhere that you actually don’t need to rinse the chicken and that doing so can cause little splashes of salmonella to infest your kitchen. Not sure if it’s true but thought I’d pass it along. 🙂

    Like

  5. pechluck (@pechluck)
    May 11, 2015

    I admire that you made the chicken itself instead of the shortcut of buying the already roasted chicken. Since I am the only meat eater at my house, buying the chicken that they even separate out into a box in the refrigerated section is my go to instead of the hot chicken because it’s a better amount, and I am willing to spend the few extra dollars to not use an extra hour or so making chicken!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      May 11, 2015

      I don’t blame you there. I might eventually do the same if my situation was like yours. In my home we’re all carnivores, haha 🙂

      Like

  6. Oh, yes I totally know what you mean the days that just everything goes right; work is a breeze, mornings are fantastic and heck there is even time for a leisurely cup of coffee. Then the other days – nothing goes right and everything is a struggle…roasting a chicken is perfect for those days and this looks delicious. Love how easy it is.

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      May 11, 2015

      Ugh, yes. A leisurely cup of coffee. Those are the days… Sigh.

      Like

  7. Erin
    May 11, 2015

    I always love the gifs you use. They are so on point! Good work 🙂 Also that chicken looks and sounds WAY better than those rotisserie chickens from the store that have been sitting under those lights for god knows how long!

    Like

  8. Sarah
    May 12, 2015

    Confession. I am a wimp when it comes to making chicken. I mostly make it in the crock pot. This seems pretty easy. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      June 16, 2015

      No judgment here, girl! We all have to get by somehow 🙂

      Like

  9. ladyloudpants
    May 12, 2015

    Yes! Roast chicken is delicious. I bet Daenerys considered roasting one of those dragons. A queen’s gotta eat.

    Like

  10. Geoff
    May 14, 2015

    I love your “simple” philosophy. And the serotonin thingy? Hm, that explains why I always gravitate to chicken sammiches.

    Like

Speak your piece!

Information

This entry was posted on May 11, 2015 by in recipe and tagged , , , , , , , .
