TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

#FridayFavorites

So, I did some things this week.
green-hairI have this really great quality about me where I get unbearably bored with my hair to the point where I just start arbitrarily snipping, dying and chopping until I can’t recognize myself anymore, at which point, my itch for impulsion has been satisfied and I can finally be at peace.
TaysteeNewHairDo OITNB#WERK
Its a breathtaking experience, really.

Amidst all the excitement, I still managed to find some really great #FridayFavorites for you all.
I know. How DOES she do it??

FLICKS: Wild

Reese Witherspoon (Walk the Line / Four Christmases / Legally Blonde) is Cheryl Strayed, a recently divorced young woman whose past is filled with all manner of hardship and hurt. In an effort to become the woman her mother knew her to be, Cheryl decides to embark on a 1,1000 mile trek up the Pacific Crest Trail. Faced with the astonishing physical demands of the trail as well as her own tortured thoughts and memories, the extreme solitude of the trail threatens to swallow her whole.
The story is adapted from the real life Cheryl Strayed’s memoir, Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail. Directed by Jean-Marc Vallée (Dallas Buyers Club) and written by Nick Hornby (An Education / High Fidelity), this film is packed with beautiful scenery, immeasurable wisdom and unforgettable performances.

It was almost painful to watch Cheryl’s struggles. Sometimes, truly painful as in the opening scene when we see her removing her own damaged toe nail. *gag* Other times, my heart ached with the her as she struggled to understand herself. Even though my life is so different from Cheryl’s, I resonate with her longing to make sense of the choices she has made for better or for worse.

“What if what made me do all those things everyone thought I shouldn’t have done was what also had got me here? What if I was never redeemed? What if I already was?”

“There is a sunrise and a sunset every day and you can choose to be there for it. You can put yourself in the way of beauty.”

TUNES: “Total Eclipse of the Heart” by Bonnie Tyler

THROWWWWWWWWBAAAAAAAAACK.
Bonnie Tyler has been referred to as the International First Lady of Rock partially due to the raspy quality of her voice which actually resulted from a vocal chord surgery in the 70’s.
You may also know her from her single “Holding Out for a Hero,” covered by Jennifer Saunders from Shrek 2.
I was reminded of how much I love this song when I saw it on Glee, which I just started watching for the first time a few weeks ago. #FinnAndRachelForever
Enjoy this little slice of 80’s gold.
Kevin-bacon-dancing
EATS: Snickerdoodle Blondie Bars

photo by Baked by Rachel

photo by Baked by Rachel

I love, love, love me some snickerdoodles. Unfortunately, they call for cream of tartar which I have on hand in my home approximately 0% of the time.
I know I could just go buy some next time I am at the store, but its such a specialty item that I always manage to forget it.
And I know I could just write it on my grocery list so as not to forget it, but then I wouldn’t be able to share this recipe with you for the most smooth, decadent snickerdoodle blondie bars that have ever graced this blogger’s taste buds.
I am not kidding you, they are remarkably soft and chewy with the perfect amount of sweet.
Having made these for a friend’s barbecue, I can tell you that its the perfect plate to bring to any gathering if you need a little ego boost. People will rave about your baking abilities all night.
Not that that’s why you should bring baked goods to your friends, of course.
nervously_sipping_coffee_spaceballs
Check out this recipe at Baked by Rachel. You definitely won’t be sorry!

BLURBS:
i-get-my-cardio-running-away-responsibilitiesI mean, the green hair says it all.
#GreenHairDontCare

Until next week, cheers!

9 comments on “#FridayFavorites

  1. Ali WIlkinson
    May 8, 2015

    Oh I love snickerdoodles too!

    Like

  2. catherinemryan
    May 8, 2015

    I watched wild on my flight back from Mexico, when my daughter miraculously fell asleep on my lap. I don’t know if it was all the hard stuff about motherhood or crazy pregnancy hormones, but I cried like 10 times in that movie!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      May 8, 2015

      That was totally me in the theater, but I wasn’t even pregnant! Its such a great film!

      Like

  3. ourdebtfreefamily
    May 9, 2015

    Love the hair! I would love to see Wild! I’ve only heard good things about it! I totally believe you that the Snickerdoodle Blondie Bars are tasty. They look amazing! And my best memory of the Bonnie Tyler song is when my husband and I sang it when my son was in my tummy at 36 weeks or so. We were trying to coax him to “Turn around…” 🙂 Happy Friday to you!

    Like

  4. Great hair! I keep wanting to do purple ombre ends but am waiting for the trend to die down. Or maybe it already has, but I’m so out of it, I have no clue. And I LOVE snickerdoodles! I might have to make some this afternoon. Thanks for the inspiration!

    Like

  5. pechluck
    May 11, 2015

    Um yes I love the words on that tank top. And that snickerdoodle blondie bar recipe is right up my alley!

    Like

  6. melissakaylene
    May 12, 2015

    Mmm those snickerdoodles look delicious!!

    Like

Speak your piece!

