TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

Cinco de Mayo

I don’t know if you’ve realized this, but its May.
YES. Its already thiiiiiiis close to being halfway done with 2015. WHOA.

It also happens to be the 5th of May, known to Latinos and boozy party-lovers everywhere as Cinco de Mayo.
The day where you can walk into any given Mexican restaurant and get yourself a jumbo margarita for a half its normal price. Indeed, an occasion to celebrate.

As a member of the latino community, I feel compelled to share a little bit of the rich history behind this holiday as well as a little peek into my own family history.
charm-bomb-bobs-burgers

My relatives from my mom’s side hail from Guadalajara, Mexico. It is the second most populous metropolitan area in Mexico (after Mexico City) and the 10th largest city in Latin America. It is a hub of art and culture that most consider the home of mariachi music. #score

Guadalajara, Mexico

Guadalajara, Mexico

My Grandmother’s parents were married in Guadalajara before coming to California. She met my Grandpa (who was born in Los Angeles, but whose family had originated in Durango, Mexico) when he was 19 years old in Oxnard, CA where they eventually were married and began their family. As they say, the rest is history… well, my history anyway.

Back to Cinco de Mayo!

The holiday actually celebrates El Día de la Batalla de Puebla (The Day of the Battle of Puebla) signifying the Mexican army’s unlikely triumph over France in 1867, although it is often confused with another very important holiday, Mexican Independence Day, which is observed on the 16th of September. The French forces were considered “the premier army in the world” at the time with more than twice the soldiers than the Mexican army, making the victory all the more astounding. The battle is remembered as a David and Goliath story that ignited a sense of unity and pride for the country of Mexico even though, ultimately, it was not a major strategic win in the overall war against the French.
Cinco De Mayo mural
In Mexico, the holiday is celebrated as the Battle of Cinco de Mayo although it is not a national holiday except in the state of Puebla (where the battle was fought) and the neighboring state of Veracruz.

So, there you have it.
In America, we mostly celebrate the food and music representing Mexican culture for Cinco de Mayo.
Understandably so.
yum-mexican-foodThat is where it is at. MM!

But, now you may go about your Cinco de Mayo shenanigans having some good ice-breaker conversations handy.
“Hi. Did you know the French army was once known as the premier army in the world back in 1867?”
awkward-jess-new-girl
I believe my work here is done.

¡Hasta luego, amigos!
Cheers!

18 comments on “Cinco de Mayo

  1. Susannah
    May 5, 2015

    I LOVE knowing how traditions got started so this was super interesting to me. Thanks for sharing. 😀

    Like

  2. Ali WIlkinson
    May 5, 2015

    So interesting! I’m one of those people who always confused this day with Mexican independence day – so thank you for the clarification!

    Like

  3. How interesting! Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  4. catherinemryan
    May 5, 2015

    Thank you for making us a little smarter! I always remember that the 5th of May is NOT Mexican independence but can rarely recall what the date actually commemorates.

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      May 5, 2015

      I am sure there are many dates that I am unaware of what national holiday they commemorate or the history behind it. Its just fun to learn about these things! 🙂

      Like

  5. ourdebtfreefamily
    May 5, 2015

    I love how you educate in such an entertaining way. I love reading your posts because I know I’ll always get a good laugh that will brighten my day. 🙂 Happy Cinco de Mayo!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      May 5, 2015

      Wow, what a compliment! Thank you so much, Monica 🙂 made my day!

      Like

  6. melissakaylene
    May 5, 2015

    I have to be honest – I didn’t know the origins for Cinco de Mayo! Thanks for the info!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      May 5, 2015

      There’s loads of holidays I don’t know the origins of. No biggie! 🙂

      Like

  7. It always cracks me up how much more Martha Stewart-esque Cinco de Mayo gets in the US each year 😉 Love that you share the history behind it with your fun & funny twists!

    Like

  8. Okay, so I’ve learned this little tid bit about Cinco De Mayo about a million times. Though, I’m pretty sure, this time I will remember it. I love how you can make it relative, connected and entertaining while also educational. History teachers need to pay attention!

    Like

  9. Bonnie
    May 6, 2015

    Mexican food, YES! And top that off with NEW GIRL, for sure. Love both!

    Like

Speak your piece!

Information

This entry was posted on May 5, 2015 by in culture and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
