TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

#FridayFavorites

Usually, every few months, we finally get around to organizing our calendar for the week.
Plan meals, budget each expense, plan a date night, arrange who gets the car for which commitments, etc.
It doesn’t always happen, but when it does, its ~* PuRe MaGiC *~
This week, we not only organized our schedule for the week, but for the next TWO MONTHS.
king-of-the-world
As king of the world, I will now gift my people with my #FridayFavorites!
MaryRollingEyes DowntonAbbey
HUZZAH!

FLICKS: The Angriest Man in Brooklyn

Henry Altmann, played by Robin Williams (Good Will Hunting / Jumanji / Patch Adams) is a very angry man who has just found out from the woman filling in for his doctor (Mila Kunis, Black Swan / Forgetting Sarah Marshall) that he has a severe brain aneurysm and only has 90 minutes to live. Having alienated himself from his friends and family, Henry attempts to traverse the savage city streets of Brooklyn in search of reconciliation with those closest to him. Meanwhile his reluctant doctor finds herself chasing Henry all over the city in an attempt to get him admitted to a hospital before either his rising anger or declining health bring about his imminent end.

This was one of the final films Robin Williams worked on before his untimely death in August 2014. While it did not receive rousing critical reviews, I found it to be an entertaining, albeit sobering, story featuring a strong cast of characters. I will watch anything Robin Williams is in, but add in the incomparable Peter Dinklage and fiery Mila Kunis and I am most definitely on board. I found myself laughing out loud almost as much as I found myself stricken with significance of the film’s message.

I will leave you with my hearty recommendation and a favorite quote from the movie.

“The only normal people there are, are the ones you don’t know very well.”

TUNES: “Harrisburg” by Josh Ritter

Curious as to why you’ve never heard this morsel of Americana goodness?
The album, Golden Age of Radio, was originally self-published for just $1000. Serious!
Ritter hails from Moscow, Idaho, but achieved his major success after hopping the pond and landing in Ireland where he was picked up by Glen Hansord of The Frames.
Take a listen!

EATS: Gin and Grapefruit Sorbet by ice cream magazine

Just let that sit with you for a second.
I’ll wait…

photo by ice cream magazine

photo by ice cream magazine

Gin.
and Grapefruit.
Sorbet.

nocontrol ElizabehBanks WTEWYE
I happen to be a gin girl, but I understand the gin camp is at odds.
I’m here today to unite the people with this impossibly simple recipe from ice cream magazine.
Say this with me:
“I pledge allegiance to the sorbet, and to the dessert-lovers for which it stands, one treat under God, indivisible, with gin and grapefruit for all.”
Let’s eat.

BLURBS:
my-head-says-go-but-my-heart-says-eat-forever
Its a very persuasive argument.

Until next week, cheers!

14 comments on “#FridayFavorites

  1. Bill Volckening
    May 1, 2015

    The gin and grapefruit sorbet sounds interesting. Hope it turns out to be good.

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      May 1, 2015

      You can’t really go wrong with gin and grapefruit 🙂

      Like

  2. Kira
    May 1, 2015

    That tank top is pretty accurate to my life although I’m not sure I want to broadcast it, ha!

    Like

  3. That movie sounds so interesting! And that tank top… the struggle is real, haha!

    Like

  4. pechluck
    May 1, 2015

    there is a whole magazine dedicated to ice cream??!!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      May 1, 2015

      that’s just the blog’s name. But still, a whole blog dedicated to frozen treats is amazing! 😀

      Like

  5. ourdebtfreefamily
    May 1, 2015

    I just might be watching that movie this weekend, and I don’t think my waistline needed to learn about ice cream magazine. The desserts on there look absolutely sinful!

    Like

  6. Yep. That shirt.

    Like

  7. Ali WIlkinson
    May 2, 2015

    Another awesome t-shirt. Almost as good as the running one last week. 🙂

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      May 2, 2015

      Right?? If I actually bought all these t-shirts, my husband would be out of a side of the closet. 😉

      Like

Speak your piece!

