TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

#FridayFavorites

I spent so much of my week spontaneously cleaning.

There is a very specific kind of anxiety you get from that lost corner of the dresser behind a picture frame or something just staring you right in the face day and night until you are finally pushed to the brink and end up just wiping it with the palm of your hand.

Then there is a whole other wave of relief and satisfaction that turns that dusted corner into a pile of folded laundry and then a vacuumed floor, followed by spotless windows and mirrors, etc. Its really not even fair if you think about it. Some days its all I can do to press the “Yes, I’m still watching.” prompt on Netflix and other days, the cleaning just takes you over and you can’t stop the beat.
mrs-doubtfire-dancing-broom
All that to say, I am going into this Friday with a lot of joy and a strong sense of accomplishment.
Not one corner of our bedroom was overlooked by the business end of this cleaning stick (i.e. my own two hands), I will tell you that right now.

It feels great!
I’m ready to celebrate with some #FridayFavorites!

FLICKS: Charlie Countryman

Charlie Countryman is played by Shia LaBeouf (Even Stevens– the only credit that bears mentioning, tbh). He travels to Romania, Bucharest specifically, and is immediately entangled in the life of a beautiful cellist named Gabi, Evan Rachel Wood (Thirteen / Across the Universe). Her notoriously volatile and depraved ex is less than pleased with their budding relationship as Charlie continues to wrestle with the ghosts of his past as well as his fascination with the charming Gabi.

This movie has a lot more action sequences than I am usually into, but that’s why I thought it was so worthy of my coveted #FridayFavorites spot. First of all, the female lead was a, pardon my French, complete bad ass. She was strong and knew how to take care of herself. She was not so easily wooed and was not reduced down to lady parts shoved into a skimpy outfit and heels. Definitely my kind of role model. Another large part of why I was drawn to this movie over others is that the chase scenes really took a back seat to the main plot of the film. I didn’t feel overwhelmed by the sequences spent in montages of characters streaking across the screen; the movie had a point and plot and I could not only follow it, but also feel genuinely invested in it.

All in all, it was a riveting film that I would definitely recommend you hopping on Netflix to watch.

TUNES: Rivers and Roads by the Head and the Heart

This song is folky and magical and these guys are from Seattle, WA. #NorthwestIsBest
They say of their name, “Your head is telling you to be stable and find a good job, you know in your heart that this [the band] is what you’re supposed to do even if it’s crazy.”
#PREACH
If you like your music creamy, smooth and full of soul, your going to love this jam.

EATS: Vanilla Chia Pudding

photo by iFoodReal

photo by iFoodReal

iFoodReal has this incredibly simple recipe that only requires 5 wholesome ingredients and one good night’s rest.
Just mix it together and refrigerate it overnight for the perfect wake up call!
Chia seeds are an ideal protein/fiber combo to fill you up fast and keep you from snacking the morning away.
And who doesn’t love a no-mess, easy-peasy recipe like this one??
Head over to iFoodReal for this 100% vegan, vegetarian and gluten free treat!

BLURBS:
perfect-has-7-letters-t-shirtDrop mic, walk away.

Until next week, cheers!

18 comments on “#FridayFavorites

  1. Marlynn Jayme Schotland
    April 17, 2015

    HA! That t-shirt. LOOOOVE it! 🙂

    Like

  2. Rachel
    April 17, 2015

    I NEED that chai pudding. Looks so fantastic!!!! Thanks for sharing. Happy Friday!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      April 17, 2015

      You’re welcome! It looked way too tasty to keep to myself 🙂

      Like

  3. pechluck (@pechluck)
    April 17, 2015

    Yes, that shirt!!

    Like

  4. Allegra Villella
    April 17, 2015

    Yay! I always love your Friday posts.

    Like

  5. mdott922
    April 17, 2015

    That t-shirt is great! And the pudding looks scrumptious! I’m going to go check it out!

    Like

  6. catherinemryan
    April 17, 2015

    Internet high fives for your kick-a cleaning accomplishments! I feel like I need to shout it from the rooftops when I clean something that’s been bugging me. Guess that shows how dedicated to cleaning I am. 😉

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      April 17, 2015

      Glad I’m not the only one who feels that way! Cheers 🙂

      Like

  7. ourdebtfreefamily
    April 17, 2015

    That shirt is awesome! And I love chia seed pudding! So refreshing, tasty, and healthy! What more could you want? Happy Friday!

    Like

  8. Havalah
    April 18, 2015

    I love that song River and Roads. I’ve never heard of that group before, but I’m now totally hooked. That’s my style of music.

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      April 18, 2015

      Its so wonderful! Glad you’re enjoying it as much as I do! 🙂

      Like

  9. Stacee
    April 18, 2015

    T-shirt is classic… and the vanilla chai pudding sounds good, too!!

    Like

Speak your piece!

