TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

#TastyTuesday: Baked Oatmeal Bars

I love oatmeal, I really do.
Of course, when I make it, its mostly a bowl of brown sugar with some oats drizzled on top.

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m working on keeping my daily calorie intake within some kind of healthy range.
Oatmeal is healthy, right?
I’ll just add a splash of milk.
Maybe a smidgen of butter.
Plus a pinch of brown sugar…
peter-dinklage-got-eyebrows
700 calories later, I decided I needed a new plan for the most important meal of the day.

A word about calorie counting:
Calorie counting does not equate to adequate nutrition. I have actually found that some more wholesome choices are the same, sometimes more, calories than their processed food counterparts due to the fact that they contain other nutritious fats that our bodies need to maintain good health.
I see my calorie tracking as a short-term tool to allow my body to adjust to a new way of eating and healthier habits overall.

I came across this recipe for baked oatmeal bars while scrolling through my Pinterest boards during one of my morning social media binges.

photo by The 36th AVENUE

photo by The 36th AVENUE

I plugged the ingredients into a recipe nutrition calculator and divided the total calories by the number of bars I was going to make and found that they were about 366 calories per serving. WOO! Well within my parameters.

They were sweet without being too overwhelming for the AM hours.

In the interest of full disclosure here, you should know that I have actually eaten frosting straight from the can for breakfast once… or twice.
Marnie-Girls-Eating-CakePlease don’t let this cloud your better judgment of me.

Only 7 simple ingredients (the kind you are actually likely to have on hand) and, in less than an hour, you’re in breakfast bliss!

Head over to The 36th AVENUE for this filling, flavorful and guilt-free breakfast recipe!

If you want to keep up with the many recipes, DIY projects and life hacks I pin, follow my Pinterest boards here.

Until next time, cheers!

11 comments on “#TastyTuesday: Baked Oatmeal Bars

  1. Marlynn Jayme Schotland
    April 14, 2015

    these bars look delicious! And yes to the calorie counting: when I had to switch to an elimination diet for health reasons, many of the meals I would eat were higher in calories, but they were all whole foods and not processed, so they contained all good-for-you calories packed with nutrition.

    Like

    • Danielle
      April 14, 2015

      Exactly what I’m talking about! Thanks, Marlynn!

      Like

  2. catherinemryan
    April 14, 2015

    Ooh, those look good! Lately I’m hungry all the time and never know what to eat, so having some easy to grab bars like these would really help.

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      April 14, 2015

      They are very convenient while still feeling satisfying. Hope you can give them a try!

      Like

  3. Ali WIlkinson
    April 14, 2015

    I may make these this week. Yum!

    Like

  4. Erin
    April 14, 2015

    Yum, that looks like a real legit way to start the day!

    Like

  5. Parental Journey
    April 14, 2015

    That seems really tasty, I am going to check out the recipe!

    Like

  6. ourdebtfreefamily
    April 14, 2015

    These look sooo delicious! I would cut the raisins and just add more chocolate chips. YUM!

    Like

  7. I don’t eat processed sugars or grains, so I don’t worry about calories at all. Real food nutrition means you don’t have to count once you eliminate the processed foods and identify the macronutrients you need in a day–then it becomes intuitive. Plus, calories from different macronutrient groups (protein, carbs, and fat) do different things in the body, so 366 calories of sugar will cause you to store fat a lot more than 366 calories of protein or fat will! I used to eat sugar and carbs for breakfast and I was hungry and squishy. There are a TON of books and research about this in the past 10 years, one you might like is The Calorie Myth by Jonathan Bailor. Here’s an interview. https://experiencelife.com/article/the-calorie-myth/. Best wishes in health!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      April 15, 2015

      Thanks so much for your thorough and thoughtful feedback! As I said, I merely use calorie tracking as a short-term aid in training my body to intake smaller portions of food. Lord knows cutting out all those sugars is hard… They’re my favorite, haha! I value your insight and suggestions, the more I know, the better I can do for myself. Cheers, friend! 🙂

      Like

Speak your piece!

Information

This entry was posted on April 14, 2015 by in recipe, tasty tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , , .
