TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

DIY Vanilla Body Spray

I’m big fan of the smells.

THE BEST smells include:
coffee
freshly baked chocolate chip cookies
newly cut grass
coffee, again
a newborn baby (with a clean diaper)
apple pie
coffee, one more time
pine trees
my husband
and vanilla body spray

You know how I know that last one?
Because I happen to wear vanilla body spray and I get sniffed a lot.

At first its kind of like
ryan-reynolds-personal-space 
but then it’s kind of like
bambi-skunk-oh-gosh
Such bizarre encounters have actually prompted me to look into why, oh why, do people universally respond to vanilla’s alluring aroma.

Turns out, the smell of pure vanilla is so relaxing it is sometimes used to calm patients during CAT scans.
AND since our “olfactory flashbacks,” that is those memories linked with our sense of smell, are so incredibly powerful, many people have positive associations with the smell of vanilla.
Let’s face it, who here has had a bad time eating cake or cookies or any other baked good??

I am very sensitive to smells, good and bad, and it is pretty much my worst nightmare to be malodorous in any way.
Usually when I spray myself down it looks something like this:

rain down on me, oh gods of fragrance

“RAIN DOWN ON ME, OH GODS OF FRAGRANCE.”

I can go through a lot of body spray.

Which brings me to my project this week!
DIY-Vanilla-Body-Spray
Here’s what you’ll need:

3-4 Tbsp vanilla extract (imitation vanilla extract is cheaper and more fragrant)
1 tsp rubbing alcohol
1 c water

Here’s what you’ll do:
1. Mix the ingredients in a spray bottle.

… aaand that’s it.

If you are concerned with the color staining your clothes and/or want to maximize the staying power of this scent on your body (and, really, who wouldn’t??), you can spray it on your inner wrists, at the base of your throat, behind your ear lobes, behind your knees, and on your inner elbows rather than using my highly sophisticated spray-and-flail method.

*I will note that I sprayed it directly on a white shirt of mine and noticed no marks or stains left behind.*

The best part is:

8 oz imitation vanilla extract: $1.50
this recipe: $0.38

16 oz rubbing alcohol: $2.50
this recipe: $0.03

TOTAL: $0.41

Given that 8 oz of my body spray usually costs about $4.64, I just saved $4.23.

money-simpsons

Until next time, cheers!

13 comments on “DIY Vanilla Body Spray

  1. GeezKyraLouise!
    April 13, 2015

    Hello! Your blog is SO lovely & this spray seems wonderful! I just started a fashion, beauty & lifestyle blog and would love if you would check it out! Kyra xx

    Like

  2. Ali WIlkinson
    April 13, 2015

    Wow! I have to try this!

    Like

  3. mdott922
    April 13, 2015

    Great idea!

    Like

  4. pechluck
    April 13, 2015

    What? This is so simple!! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      April 13, 2015

      I thought so too and I love it! Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      Like

  5. catherinemryan
    April 13, 2015

    You’re so right that smells are evocative. One of my favorite “scents” is sunscreen because it reminds me of so many good summers. 🙂

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      April 13, 2015

      Oh, good one!! I can think of lots of memories linked to sunscreen 🙂 cheers!

      Like

  6. Fizzy Party
    April 14, 2015

    Mmm love the smell of vanilla. It makes me think of baking which I love doing. This recipe is so easy.

    Like

  7. Bonnie
    April 28, 2015

    Interesting! I’ve never thought of making something like this before!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      April 28, 2015

      I am a bit of a body spray enthusiast, so I really needed to figure out a way to make my own otherwise I’d spray myself out of house and home, haha 🙂

      Like

Speak your piece!

Information

This entry was posted on April 13, 2015 by in beauty, diy and tagged , , , , , , .
