TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

#FridayFavorites: Yes, Please (Amy Poehler)

amy-poehler-dancing

This week’s #FridayFavorites is going to be a little different format than my past posts.
I finally finished Yes, Please and it was so impactful/hilarious/touching/raw/eloquent/honest that I had to dedicate a whole post to it.
Who knows, maybe from here on out every post will be about this dynamo of a comedienne/woman. I’ll call it “Truly Amy,” eh, eh?
amy-poehler-thats-what-i-want
I would have finished this memoir long, long ago (it was a Christmas present from my #1 husband / certified toe heater upper), but I have a really good reason as to why it took over 3 months to read 352 pages. Just wait till you hear it!
amy-poehler-lower-your-expectations
Through the course of this book, I honestly felt like I became Amy’s bff.
See! We are so close that we are on a first name basis. (“we” lol.)

I guess I just felt like when the book was over, that we would be over.
amy-poehler-naive-newborn-baby

When people are faced with uncomfortable and embarrassing situations, especially when they are in the wrong, I find their actions speak volumes as to the type of person they truly are.
There’s a chapter completely dedicated to the integral role she played in an insensitive SNL skit making light of a real life family’s struggles with a disabled child. She shares her personal insights and correspondence with the family through the whole ordeal, offering a candid and unedited look at her character.

She just wouldn’t share so much with me unless we were besties, RIGHT?!
amy-poehler-vulnerabilityShe is so wonderful.

I could go on with another 1,000 words on just how wonderful I think Amy Poehler is and how this book changed me in so many ways, but instead, I will let her words speak for themselves.

My top 10 favorite moments in Yes, Please:

“It’s called ‘Yes Please’ because it is the constant struggle and often the right answer. Can we figure out what we want, ask for it, and stop talking? Yes please. Is being vulnerable a power position? Yes please. Am I allowed to take up space? Yes please. Would you like to be left alone? Yes please. I love saying “yes” and I love saying “please.” Saying “yes” doesn’t mean I don’t know how to say no, and saying “please” doesn’t mean I am waiting for permission. “Yes please” sounds powerful and concise. It’s a response and a request. It is not about being a good girl; it is about being a real woman. It’s also a title I can tell my kids. I like when they say “Yes please” because most people are rude and nice manners are the secret keys to the universe.”

“Great people do things before they’re ready. They do things before they know they can do it. Doing what you’re afraid of, getting out of your comfort zone, taking risks like that- that’s what life is. You might be really good. You might find out something about yourself that’s really special and if you’re not good, who cares? You tried something. Now you know something about yourself.”

“People are their most beautiful when they are laughing, crying, dancing, playing, telling the truth, and being chased in a fun way.”

“The only way we will survive is by being kind. The only way we can get by in this world is through the help we receive from others. No one can do it alone, no matter how great the machines are.”

“A person’s tragedy does not make up their entire life. A story carves deep grooves into our brains each time we tell it. But we aren’t one story. We can change our stories. We can write our own.”

“I want to have conversations about real things with people who have experienced real things. I’m tired of talking about movies and gossiping about friends. Life is crunchy and complicated and all the more delicious.”

“A woman is like a tea bag; you never know how strong it is until it’s in hot water.”

“A word about apologizing: It’s hard to do it without digging yourself in deeper. It’s also scary and that’s why we avoid the pain. We want so badly to plead our case and tell our story. The bad news is that everybody has a story. Everyone has a version of how things went down and how they participated.”

“Your ability to navigate and tolerate change and its painful uncomfortableness directly correlates to your happiness and general well-being.”

“You have to care about your work but not about the result. You have to care about how good you are and how good you feel, but not about how good people think you are or how good people think you look.”

amy-poehler-snl-best-in-the-worldWe all agree, you saucy minx. 😉

Have any good book suggestions? Share them in the comments!
I’m currently looking to fill the Amy Poehler-sized hole in my heart.

Until next time, cheers!

14 comments on “#FridayFavorites: Yes, Please (Amy Poehler)

  1. Rachel
    April 10, 2015

    hahahahaha this made me laugh. Great Friday post. Have a good weekend!

    Like

  2. Marlynn Jayme Schotland
    April 10, 2015

    LOVE Amy Poehler!

    Like

  3. Suset Schumacher
    April 10, 2015

    haha I love your post 🙂 I cant wait for read another one!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      April 10, 2015

      Thanks so much! She’s an amazing writer and human 🙂

      Like

  4. Ali WIlkinson
    April 10, 2015

    I’ve been wanting to read this. You’ve now convinced me.

    Like

  5. catherinemryan
    April 10, 2015

    I’ve been meaning to read this. I just put it on my requests at the library!

    Like

  6. ourdebtfreefamily
    April 10, 2015

    You know a book is great when you don’t want it to end! I love all of these inspiring quotes!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      April 10, 2015

      Exactly! She has so many golden nuggets of wisdom strewn throughout the book. 🙂

      Like

  7. Erin
    April 10, 2015

    Yay! I have had this one on my reading wish list but hadn’t purchased it yet. I’m thinking this will be perfect weekend reading! I agree, Amy Poehler is so great. Thanks for the recommendation!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      April 10, 2015

      No better time than the present, as they say 🙂 You won’t regret it!

      Like

Speak your piece!

