TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

#Friday Favorites

I can be a real Debbie Downer sometimes.

I think the world  we  I need a little less
HateEveryoneIncludingMyself GilmoreGirls
and a little more
WillFerrell IFrigginLoveYou
That being said…
I’ve walked 19.15 miles since Monday!
(that’s over the course of four separate walks, not that I have been walking for five days straight and haven’t even gone 20 miles.)
During this time, I’ve improved upon my pace by almost one whole minute!

These are positive things!
Here’s some more (that you may find yourself slightly more interested in):

FLICKS:  Detachment

Here’s how Netflix describes this movie: “After a disenfranchised substitute teacher is assigned to an inner-city school, he finds himself becoming involved with his students and colleagues.”

Um, what?? Did he also have eyes and breathe real oxygen from the air?

Alas, I am the simpleton for whom this synopsis was enough for. Well, that and the fact that Adrien Brody is my hunky-hunky fantasy dreamland husband (my actual husband knows about this, he’s not too concerned).

Here’s what this movie is really about: Adrien Brody (The Grand Budapest Hotel / The Darjeeling Limited / The Pianist) plays Henry, a substitute teacher in an inner-city school. Suffering from a shrinking budget and paper-thin resources, the school is slowly crumbling under the indifference of the parents and reckless behavior of it’s students. Henry exhibits the durability to withstand some of the nastiest encounters the school can serve up, while also reaching out to some of the most lonely and tortured young people he comes across. The film is intercut with side interviews of Henry revealing his intimate observations and the sad realities of the education system that those helping and hindering work within. This stellar cast includes Marcia Gay Harden (Into the Wild / Mystic River), Christina Hendricks (Mad Men / Drive), Lucy Liu (Kill Bill: Vol. 1 / Charlie’s Angels) and James Caan (The Godfather / Elf).

I was blown away by how raw and riveting this film depicted the crippling conditions that these inner-city students, faculty and administrators have to deal with on a daily basis.

“We have such a responsibility to guide our young so that they don’t end up falling apart, falling by the wayside, becoming insignificant.” Henry Barthes

TUNES: “Crystals” by Of Monsters and Men

Of Monsters and Men could release an album consisting of one full hour of listening to a faucet drip and I would listen to every second of it.
The good news is, this first single off their new album Beneath the Skin is not that.
As with their previous album, My Head is an Animal, they have created a symphony of indie/rock goodness that my ears just want to gobble up forever and ever.
Sometimes my head really is an animal, amirite??

EATS: Vegan Bacon Mac & Cheese with Kale
So, I am a part of this Portland Bloggers page on facebook and it is just this really cool community of people who share their daily blog posts and whatnot.
Without this facebook group, I may have never been introduced to this recipe! (or to the loads of creative and talented bloggers in PDX!)

photo by Running with Tongs

photo by Running with Tongs

check. that. OUT!
Running with Tongs shares how to make this fine feast on her page highlighting healthy eating and holistic living.

BLURBS:
Coffee-crack-is-bad-mug#CleanEating, yes?

How do you turn your frown upside down?

Until next week, cheers!

16 comments on “#Friday Favorites

  1. Lindsay Ingalls
    April 3, 2015

    What a great list! Thank you for including my recipe! And way to go on walking over 19 miles so far this week!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      April 3, 2015

      Thanks, Lindsay! When I first saw your recipe, I knew I had to share it! Cheers to you 🙂

      Like

  2. catherinemryan
    April 3, 2015

    Haha! That’s hilarious. If I’m in a funk, it’s pretty much guaranteed that looking back over my Instagram photos will cheer me up. It’s fun to rewind through my daughter’s goofy pictures. 🙂

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      April 3, 2015

      I love that! My Instagram is predominantly pictures of my pup, but I’m sure once I have kids, the ratio will shift 🙂

      Like

  3. ladiesinnavy
    April 3, 2015

    that mac and cheese and that film look great! i need to check both out!
    http://www.ladiesinnavy.com

    Like

  4. Ali WIlkinson
    April 3, 2015

    Nice job with the walking! This is a great post. I’m going to be positive today too.

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      April 3, 2015

      Thanks so much! I find that some days are easier than others… Haha

      Like

  5. Gilmore GIFs always portray emotions perfectly!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      April 3, 2015

      I may or may not have a folder on my desktop consisting of Gilmore Girls GIFs for all occasions 🙂

      Like

  6. Bill Volckening
    April 3, 2015

    I turn my frown upside down with upside-down cake from a local mom & pop Hawaiian take-out joint.

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      April 3, 2015

      That sounds amazing! And what, may I ask, is the name of this local joint that I must visit? 🙂

      Like

  7. pechluck
    April 3, 2015

    Great job on the miles, and the improvement of pace is significant, awesome!

    Like

  8. ourdebtfreefamily
    April 3, 2015

    I started today off in a funk, but I was determined to shift my mood. I put on a podcast, and that did the trick! So far the day has turned out pretty well. 🙂

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      April 3, 2015

      I’ve had some friends recommending a few great podcasts to me recently. Sounds like I need to take the hint and get into them 🙂

      Like

Speak your piece!

