TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

10 Homemade Recipe Staples using 5 Ingredients or Less

10-Homemade-Recipe-Staples-TITLEGreetings, friends!

I’d say that one of my least favorite things in the world is when I go to make a recipe and then I find out halfway through that I am missing some ingredient that I could’ve sworn I had.

Its right up there with stepping on legos with your bare feet and being forced to update apps on your phone that you never use, but can’t delete.
CommunicationOrTorture DowntonAbbeyYou know what I’m saying?
I wouldn’t wish it on my worst enemy.

I want to save you from this despair.
I have compiled the top 10 recipe staples that you can make at home using five ingredients or less.

Together, we can make sure that no one suffers at the hands of an empty flour pot or butter dish ever again.

1. Homemade Flour 
All you need:
– wheat berries
Full recipe on Truly Cozy
homemade-flour
2. Homemade Butter
All you need:
-heavy cream
-salt
Full recipe on Homegrown Friends
homemade-butter
3. Homemade Brown Sugar 
All you need:
-white sugar
-molasses
Full recipe on Like Mother, Like Daughter
homemade-brown-sugar
4. Homemade Powdered Sugar
All you need:
– white sugar
– corn starch
Full recipe on The Wannabe Chef
Homemade-Powdered-Sugar
5. Homemade Peanut Butter
All you need:
– raw peanuts
– extra virgin olive oil
– brown sugar or honey
– salt
Full recipe on Food 4 Tots
homemade-peanut-butter
6. Homemade Vanilla Extract (plus some other great extracts!)
All you need:
– vanilla beans
– vodka
Full recipe on Just Putzing Around the Kitchen
homemade-extracts
7. Homemade Baking Powder
All you need:
– baking soda
– cream of tartar
Full recipe on Surviving the Stores
homemade-Baking-Powder
8. Homemade Whipped Cream
All you need:
– heavy cream
– white sugar
– vanilla extract
Full recipe on Frugal Living Mom
homemade-whipped-cream
9. Homemade Sweetened Condensed Milk
All you need:
– powdered milk
– white sugar
– water
– butter
– vanilla extract
Full recipe on Sugar Apron 
homemade-condensed-milk
10. Homemade Mayonnaise
All you need:
– egg
– lemon juice (or vinegar)
– salt
– extra virgin olive oil
Full recipe on Big Life Little Garden
homemade-mayo

Don’t you feel so empowered now??
foodthatisscared ronswansonIt will be.
OH, it will be.

Until next time, cheers!

19 comments on “10 Homemade Recipe Staples using 5 Ingredients or Less

  1. Mary B
    March 30, 2015

    This is awesome! Thank you!

    Like

  2. Ali WIlkinson
    March 30, 2015

    I never knew that about the powdered sugar. Very cool!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      March 31, 2015

      Its amazing how creative people can get in a pinch. So many good ideas!

      Like

  3. Pech
    March 30, 2015

    Who knew homemade butter was so easy!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      March 30, 2015

      I know, right?? My husband’s family makes it from scratch on Thanksgiving. Instead of using a mixer, they put the ingredients into a canning jar and the kids pass it around and shake it up for about 45 minutes (sometimes the adults help 😉 ) and voilà!

      Like

  4. Bill Volckening
    March 30, 2015

    Excellent! I’ve made some of these things at home, and they are wonderful. Will definitely try the others.

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      March 30, 2015

      That’s so cool, Bill! I’m excited to try more of these myself 🙂

      Like

  5. Yes Spaces
    March 30, 2015

    Wonderful list and your images are just amazing! Keep up the great work!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      March 30, 2015

      Thank you SO much, that’s really encouraging. Cheers! 🙂

      Like

  6. catherinemryan
    March 30, 2015

    These are great!

    Like

  7. I love cooking from scratch! Husband and I actually have a whole pinboard for homemade real food basics… https://www.pinterest.com/GrassfedGeek/homemade-real-foods/ A few of those are recipes I’ve done myself, like homemade nut butters and coconut butter!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      March 31, 2015

      Too cool! I’ll definitely check it out 🙂 sounds like a great board to follow! Thanks for the tip, cheers!

      Like

  8. Kylie
    March 31, 2015

    You are so clever!

    Like

  9. Geoff
    March 31, 2015

    I’ve heard vanilla beans are difficult to extract or even cut from. True?

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      March 31, 2015

      Geoff, I suppose the vanilla pods may be slightly difficult to cut because they are thin and have an uneven surface but I find that you can get a good grip for slicing evenly if you grab ahold of the hooked end of the pod.
      As far as extracting, I’ve read many articles that confirm it is as easy as slicing the pods longways and fully submerging them in vodka for a number of weeks (depending on how much you are making).
      Does this help at all?
      I appreciate your thoughtful inquiry! 🙂

      Like

  10. carrotbowl
    April 2, 2015

    Great ideas! I grew up with a dad who always had molasses on hand to make brown sugar. 🙂

    Like

Speak your piece!

