TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

#Friday Favorites

FridayFavoritesLogoGreetings, friends!

I went on a few decently long walks this week that left me feeling
1. totally invigorated.
2. positive about the trajectory of my health.
3. like a curmudgeon.
luke-push-jess-into-the-lake-gilmore-girlsWhen a 40 degree incline has me gasping for breath like a I’m being drowned, I get a little grumpy.

Now more than ever, I want to snuggle up to my dog and indulge in some #FridayFavorites.
(that should really help the out of breath thing, right?)

FLICKS: Inherent Vice

Joaquin Phoenix (Her / Walk the Line / Gladiator) is “Doc,” a man that everyone is looking for to help sort out some whacky disappearances and bizarre connections between a cast of colorful characters in the daze of 1970’s Los Angeles.
Honestly, my plot summary has to stop there because most other things I could share might spoil the otherwise brilliant development of characters and stories that Paul Thomas Anderson has become accustomed to delivering. This movie is heavily dialogue-driven, which is why the cast is completely stacked with some of Hollywood’s heaviest hitters.

DO NOT go see it if you:
1. don’t like seeing a lot of Joaquin Phoenix.
2. don’t like anything that warrants an “R” rating from the MPAA.
3. don’t have a long attention span.

DO see it if you:
1. are a big PTA fan. (that’s Paul Thomas Anderson, ya parent-teacher goons.)
2. like asking all sorts of annoying questions to your fellow audience as though they are not also watching this movie for the first time too.
3. appreciate really phenomenal actors letting their skills shine instead of just watching them stand around while stuff blows up and more and more of their clothes mysteriously disappear from their bodies.

(I’m feelin’ the lists this week in case you hadn’t noticed.)

TUNES: “Finale B” from Rent


I was super late to the game on Rent.
It was hella popular when I was in high school, but I refused to watch it on principle.
“No way am I going to get sucked into that fad!” as I adjusted my puka shell necklace and LiveStrong bracelet.
Turns out, the joke was on me.
ALL the songs are magical.
I have yet to see the stage performance, but the movie (which is currently on Netflix, *hint hint*) is great and I’ve seen it approximately 5 times in the last month or so…
What?
That’s not weird.

EATS: Blueberry, Lime and Vodka Sorbet
This is exactly what the world needs after a long week.
Ice Cream Magazine shares this sorbet recipe that will knock your socks off!

photo by Ice Cream Magazine

photo by Ice Cream Magazine

Blueberries: yes.
Lime: oh yes.
Vodka: GIMME DAT.

They soak the lime slivers in vodka, people.
Its like a tiny margarita for your sorbet!
i-dont-care-what-happens-the-rest-of-the-day

BLURBS:
time-machine-breakfast-shirtWhen your friends start sending you things like this, you know you’ve done something right.

Until next week, cheers!


14 comments on “#Friday Favorites

  1. Bill Volckening
    March 27, 2015

    Blueberry, lime and vodka sorbet? Yes, please!

    Like

  2. pechluck (@pechluck)
    March 27, 2015

    I love that T shirt!

    Like

  3. Rachel
    March 27, 2015

    OMG THE SORBET!!! I need to try that now.

    Like

  4. Marlynn Jayme Schotland
    March 27, 2015

    I’m digging that sorbet. That’s like Friday in a bowl!

    Like

  5. Sometimes life just makes us feel like a curmudgeon!

    Like

  6. ourdebtfreefamily
    March 27, 2015

    I love the movie Rent, too!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      March 27, 2015

      YES! Thank you!! Somehow my husband doesn’t seem to understand why its my forever Netflix suggestion. Psh.

      Like

  7. Blog To Taste
    March 28, 2015

    Ooooh, thank you for not spoiling Inherent Vice for me, I am dying to see it!

    Like

Speak your piece!

