TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

#Friday Favorites

Greetings, friends!

As it is Friday, the most glorious day of the week and the end to the work week, I would like to celebrate with all of you by sharing some of my FAVORITE things.
FridayFavoritesLogoFLICKS: Chef

Jon Favreau (Iron Man / Couples Retreat / I Love You, Man) has written, directed and starred in a real winner here.
He plays Carl Casper, the head chef at a swanky LA restaurant, battling against the shrewd, play-it-safe supervision of the restaurant’s owner played by Dustin Hoffman (Meet the Fockers / Rain Man / The Graduate). His ex wife, Inez (Sofia Vergara, Modern Family), encourages him to pursue the food he loves so that he can really pursue his passions and stop letting down their son Percy, Emjay Anthony (Insurgent / It’s Complicated). Along with his best friend Martin, John Leguizamo (Moulin Rouge / Romeo + Juliet / The Lincoln Lawyer), Casper goes back to his beginnings in the cutthroat world of food in order to rediscover what brought him there in the first place.

You really have no excuse not to watch this movie because it is currently on Netflix.
After watching the film, I was totally inspired to become a gourmet chef and say words like amuse bouche and beignet.
cooking-fail-simpsons-gifOf course then I remembered my propensity for accidents, so I decided to stick with simple, basic recipes.

Bottom line: GO WATCH THIS MOVIE.

EATS: Avocado Egg Salad
This week, I had the pleasure of having some much needed quality time with a friend of mine who is far and away a much healthier eater than me.
This little peach (my friend, that is) introduced me to the delights of avocado egg salad.
avocado-egg-salad
Have you seen this before?
Some genius put avocados and hard boiled eggs together and now we get to enjoy it!
Life is so beautiful.
Relishing It has a simple and quick recipe that you can whip up and enjoy in minutes.
I’m not going to say that I actually picked up my plate and licked it clean with my actual tongue, but there were definitely no crumbs leftover after the feasting.

BLURBS:
alcohol apron
#VALID

TUNES: Lord of the Rings Medley by Lindsey Stirling

I have a few reasons for choosing this particular song this week:
1. Lord of the Rings is a totally 100% amazing fantasy film series and anyone who says otherwise is LYING.
2. The locations in the music video. OH, THE LOCATIONS. Words fail.
3. It has been just over six months since a friend, who was deeply inspired by the story J.R.R. Tolkien shared in the LOTR series, passed away suddenly and unexpectedly.

Griffin was a brilliant and creative individual. He showed me unending kindness without needing any reason or incentive at all. Not just to me, but to everyone he encountered.
It breaks my heart to say goodbye to someone who had so much ahead of him in life, but even more so when I think about his family that had such a special and integral part of their life torn away from them far, far too soon.

So this week, my song is for Griffin and his family.
I want you all to know that as the world goes right on spinning, I hold you all so close to my heart and I think about your struggle and loss every single day.

Until next week, cheers!

10 comments on “#Friday Favorites

  1. Bill Volckening
    March 13, 2015

    Haven’t heard of avocado egg salad, but I have heard of deviled eggs with guacamole rather than egg yolk.

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      March 13, 2015

      Bill, that sounds really yummy! I’ll have to give that a try as well 🙂 thanks for the tip!

      Like

  2. Rachel
    March 13, 2015

    Literally EVERYONE I know has recommended Chef to me. I think I’ll be watching it on Sunday!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      March 13, 2015

      Rachel, that makes me so happy! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

      Like

  3. Marlynn Jayme Schotland
    March 13, 2015

    Ah I love that apron! 🙂 And I thought I was the only person who hasn’t watched Chef yet. I’ve heard great things about it!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      March 13, 2015

      Its definitely worth watching! And that apron is officially on my Christmas list haha

      Like

  4. Monica Louie
    March 13, 2015

    Chef looks like a great film! And on Netflix? I may have to check it out with the hubby this weekend!

    And I accidentally made the avocado egg salad last week, but I didn’t know the name. We had some avocado sauce left over from a recipe and hard-boiled eggs in the fridge. I combined the two and added some tuna for a healthy and filling snack. It was delicious!

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      March 13, 2015

      Oh, Monica. I LOVE tuna. What a brilliant idea! I love when the ingredients in my fridge just come together like that all on their own 🙂

      Like

  5. Chef is in my Netflix queue, but so are a million other things! I’m with Bill. Avocado is a great addition to deviled eggs.

    Like

    • Truly Cozy
      March 15, 2015

      I spent way too much time browsing Netflix the other day and now my queue is absolutely packed full of a million movies that will take a very long time to get through haha but Chef is definitely worth the watch!

      Like

Speak your piece!

