TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

#FridayFavorites

FridayFavoritesLogoGreetings, friends!

As it is Friday, the most glorious day of the week and the end to the work week, I would like to celebrate with all of you by sharing some of my FAVORITE things.

FLICKS: About Time

I spent my Galentine’s Day with my bff sipping mimosas, eating a literal tub of eclairs and watching this movie.

***PSA***
In case you didn’t know: Galentine’s Day is

galentinesday parksandrec***END OF PSA***

So, I know, Rachel McAdams has been sucked into the vortex of
RachelMcAdamsAlmostKIssingMoviePostersthe “almost kissing a hunky man-cake” genre, but at least in this one, she’s not in profile.
about timeALSO, “From the director of Love Actually.” NEED I SAY MORE?
No.
But I will.
Rachel McAdams and Domhnall Gleeson (he’s Irish, OKAY.) are completely charming together in this quirky (yes, it actually has a unique twist on the traditional rom-com) story about the ups and downs of a long life together.
Here’s where it gets interesting, and I don’t want to give anything away here, but by the end of the movie, I wasn’t so sure the film wasn’t actually more about Tim (Gleeson) and his dad (Bill Nighy, OH YES.) rather than Tim and Mary (McAdams). Their relationship is so beautifully depicted and I realized I just don’t see very many movies where the parent-child relationship is so affirming and positive while still being real and honest. Not that friction isn’t true to life, but the way these two existed together was really spectacular to witness.
Really, truly, I think you will be pleasantly surprised with this movie as was I.
Thanks to my funny Valentine for making me watch it. #OvariesBeforeBrovaries

TUNES: “Take Me to Church” by Hozier

If you haven’t watched this music video yet, than you need to get on that IMMEDIATELY.

I’ll wait.

Hozier is also an Irish hunky man-cake, guess that’s my theme this week, but the man is more than just really, really good hair.
He explains that the song and accompanying video represent a criticism of the abuse and downright brutality that oppressive institutions take hold of and run rampant with against the people all over the world that they deem weak or wrong.

Besides the poignant albeit relevant and important subject matter, the song completely jams and I can’t get enough of it.
In fact, my little buddy has officially declared it “our song” and belts out his misheard lyrics every time the song comes on in the car.

"I like when he says 'take me to church like a dog'" #FromTheMouthOfBabes

“I like when he says ‘take me to church like a dog'” #FromTheMouthOfBabes

HACKS: DIY All-Purpose Cleansing Wipes
cleansing wipesI’m not gonna lie to you… this is my own project.
Homemade all-purpose cleansing wipes are everything.
I love the idea just spraying cleaner on dirty surfaces and using reusable rags to clean up the mess, but who has time for that??
Well, I do.
But don’t underestimate the forces at work here.
I mean we’re talking about someone who tucks utensils and a bottle of ranch dressing away on her person to avoid having to take two trips from the pizza box in the kitchen to the couch in the living room.

If you have had doubts about homemade cleaning before, this is the kind of DIY that will convert you.
They’re easy to make, effective and so cheap in comparison to Clorox wipes.
I LOVE THESE THINGS.

BLURBS:
wish my#IDreamedADream

Until next week, cheers!

Speak your piece!

