TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

Healthy Eating Habits | Ashley @ The Recipe Rebel

Greetings, friends!

I want to take a moment to gush a little about my experience since starting this blog.

I have had the best time sharing my little tidbits of wisdom and silliness with all of you.
I love following others’ blogs and swapping ideas and advice.
I mean, there is SO MUCH information out there.
So when people take the time to visit my blog on a regular basis, like my posts and send me little comments, I get
RachelAndPhoebeJumpingRossJoins Friendspreeeeeetty psyched.

I am so inspired by the people I see succeeding every day and doing what they love.

One such individual is Ashley at The Recipe Rebel.
Blog Profile Photo

This Canadian sensation is a food lover who is not afraid to throw her eggs in the mixer before beating them, if you know what I mean.

Well, just that she makes recipes her own in innovative ways.
So, I guess there’s not really much to insinuate there.

ANYWAY, just give her blog a little look-see if you’re into incredible food with a serious bent for the everyman.

Ashley is a self-proclaimed sugar, bread and chocolate addict.
annehathaway raisingeyebrowflirting princessdiaries(sounds like my kind of lady)

However, she has some great insights on what being healthy means to her and I know you all will enjoy them just as much as I did!

Without further adieu…

1. What does “healthy eating” mean to you?

Healthy eating to me is all about moderation. There are people who have great willpower and can avoid all sorts of naughty and delicious things, but I am unfortunately not always one of those people. For me, if I can have some treats to look forward to I find it a lot easier to eat healthy the rest of the time. Because I know I have a major sweet tooth, I try to find desserts that are lower in sugar or calories than others, because then I can have my sweet fix without overindulging too much.


2. What is your favorite meal to start the day?

Breakfast is my favorite meal ever. We love, love, love all kinds of breakfast foods, and eat them quite often for dinner! One of my favorite ways to start the day is with a homemade breakfast sandwich: a toasted whole wheat English muffin, a cooked egg, and a slice of ham. Super filling and a great source of protein!

3. What is your favorite snack when you’re on the go?

I have a homemade granola bar recipe that we absolutely love. They’re totally moist and are healthier than the store bought because you know what’s in them. I like to add ground flax for to make them even healthier! Fresh fruit is also a favorite here: it’s so easy to grab an apple or banana, and bring it with instead of purchasing much less healthy snacks when you’re out.

4. What are some tips you can share on how to stay healthy when eating out?

I have to admit, there are a lot of times I indulge when we’re eating out. I cook pretty much everything from scratch at home, so I’m not too worried about the occasional extravagant meal. But there are lots of ways you can make healthier choices when eating out: switch up your sides, order a half size of something, take half home for lunch the next day, share with someone (I’ve got a toddler, so I rarely get a whole meal to myself anyway!), or just pay attention to what you’re ordering — skip the gravy, the bread, the extra cheese and aim for lean meats and sides that aren’t fried. Even just ordering mashed potatoes without gravy is a step up from ordering fries.

5. How do you cure a sweet tooth?

Haha, with cake! Brownies, cookies, ice cream… you name it. I think if you bake from scratch, and make healthier swaps (like fat free yogurt or applesauce in place of butter, whole wheat flour in place of all-purpose, reduce the sugar), there’s nothing wrong with having a little something sweet every now and then.

6. If you could eat any food for ever and ever, what would it be? (healthy or not!)

Oh man, I’m such a food lover — that’s a hard one. Perogies? Pasta? Brownies? Cookies? A great big hamburger? If it’s full of carbs, it’s generally hard for me to resist! That’s why I work hard to make healthier versions of the foods I love, instead of trying to force myself to eat foods that I don’t enjoy. There are healthy swaps for just about anything!
Check out some of The Recipe Rebel‘s amazing guilt-free recipes!

Photo by The Recipe Rebel

Photo by The Recipe Rebel

Photo by The Recipe Rebel

Photo by The Recipe Rebel

{Slow Cooker} BBQ Chicken Quinoa Sloppy Joes www.thereciperebel.com 3

Photo by The Recipe Rebel

Photo by The Recipe Rebel

Photo by The Recipe Rebel

I think Ashley has the right idea here.
Its about making small improvements here and there while still eating the foods you love.

Just keep in mind, Rome wasn’t built in a day, guys.

frenchbulldog reachforball

#TheStruggleIsReal

Until next time, cheers!

Speak your piece!

Information

This entry was posted on February 16, 2015 by in healthy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
