TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

Healthy Eating Habits | Allegra Villella

Greetings, friends!

You know how certain people in your life have a tendency to light a fire under your bum?
keepswimming
So, I’ve got this friend. Allegra Villella. Maybe you’ve heard of her?
Allegra VillellaPortland lifestyle/boudoir photographer, natural beauty product enthusiast, pug owner, beautiful human being.

You can see some of her work here! (and you really, really should. TRUST ME.)

I credit a great deal of my motivation for this blog to my astounding friend here. Whenever we get together, its magic baby.

Who better to ask for some healthy eating advice from than the one whose inspired my own adventures into a world beyond pizza pockets and chili cheese fries? Not that we don’t have our guilty pleasures. (see question #6)


1. What does “healthy eating” mean to you?

I think healthy eating is all about balance and listening to your body. Sometimes you just have to try a few eating lifestyles to see what works for you. For me, I’ve noticed that eating an abundance of veggies, fruits, and whole grains leaves me full of energy, while processed foods, sugar, and diary generally makes me feel sluggish and just gross. Everyone responds to food differently, so see what makes you feel your best!

instagram @ allegravillella

instagram @ allegravillella

With anything though, balance and variety is so important. I had my first attempt at a plant-based diet in college, and although I felt much better health-wise, I was SO BORED with food. I basically foamed at the mouth anytime my roommates ate Cheese-Its. I wasn’t informed or committed enough at that point to find healthy alternatives or to try new recipes. I’m finally learning that there are endless healthy options out there, all you have to do is be willing to try them and gradually make them a part of your lifestyle. And it gets easier every day, because I know how much better I feel when I eat foods that fuel and nourish my body.


2. What is your favorite healthy breakfast?

Smoothie

instagram @ allegravillella

I love smoothies! Any way to start my day with fresh fruits and veggies is such a plus. Right now I’ve been loving Acai smoothies with blueberries, raspberries, a banana, a handful of spinach, orange juice, and hemp protein. If I know I have a big day ahead of me I also love having a big bowl of oatmeal with tons of toppings like nuts, coconut flakes, raisins, etc. Every bite should be an adventure!

instagram @ allegravillella

instagram @ allegravillella


3. What are some tips you can share on how to stay healthy when eating out?

Portland is probably one of the easiest cities for those with dietary concerns or allergies. Most restaurants are very accommodating, and there are heaps of places that specialize in certain diets (like vegetarian, paleo, vegan, raw, gluten-free, etc.) This makes dining out and eating healthy a breeze!

instagram @ allegravillella

instagram @ allegravillella

But when I’m traveling, finding healthy options is more of a challenge. The best thing for me has been to check out menus beforehand and familiarize myself with the options. Sometimes I just have to be “that person” who calls ahead to ask what’s in the pizza crust. And yes, sometimes the only option I find is a boring salad. It’s easy to get a little jealous of what everyone else is eating, but then I remember that the point of eating out is really just to spend time with family or friends. And while food is important, their company is really the best part.

4. What is your go-to quick snack for eating on the go?

If I’m running out the door, fruit is my go-to snack. No prep needed, and it definitely gives my blood sugar a little boost (trust me, you don’t want to see me hangry!). I also have been utterly obsessed lately with a little combo of pecans, coconut flakes, and chocolate chips.


5. What is your go-to food when you have a sweet tooth?

I usually don’t have a huge sweet tooth! But when it strikes, I’m all about that Coconut Bliss Ice Cream. Heaven!! I also recently tried making a chia  pudding, which was super simple. Coconut milk, honey, and chia seeds are all you need! Chia seeds are a great source of omega-3s, protein, and antioxidants…plus they’re just fun to eat!

instagram @ allegravillella

instagram @ allegravillella


6. If you could eat any food forever and ever, what would it be (healthy or not!)?

I imagine this would have terrible side effects, but I secretly love salt & vinegar chips, especially the baked kettle kind!

I got you right?
I was like all, “uhh healthy eating habits” and you were just like:
where-is-my-food_1392
WTF?! (where’s the food)

Eating healthy isn’t just about going paleo or vegetarian.
On the contrary, its just about “listening to your body,” as Miss Allegra so eloquently put it.

So go out there and take a listen, folks.
food-monday-mouth-full-gifOr just try your best.

Until next time, cheers!

Speak your piece!

Information

This entry was posted on February 10, 2015 by in healthy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
