TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

All-Natural DIY Teeth Whitening

PasteOnBrush
Greetings, friends!

Have you ever met a person who has a million dollar smile?

Well, my smile may not quite be worth a million, but it did cost a few grand.
THANKS, OBAMA. — I mean, braces.

Before braces, my smile was somewhat of a large gaping hole with some teeth on the side.
BadTeeth Bridesmaids

Fast forward to now, straight teeth and a lot of coffee.
You see, I live in the Pacific Northwest and if you don’t drink 2-9 cups of coffee everyday, I think they’ll kick you out.
Also, I happen to love coffee.
For this reason, my $3,000 smile has lost some of its luster.

I came across this adorable British lass with a great video on how to whiten your teeth at home.

So I decided to give it a try…

BeforeAfterTITLE
Here’s what you’ll need:
lemon or lime juice (in the interest of full disclosure, I just used the stuff from a bottle.)
baking soda
a toothbrush
Ingredients
Here’s what you’ll do:
1. Spread a spoonful of baking soda on a small plate. Slowly squeeze some lemon or lime juice on top of the baking soda. It should begin to fizz.
LimeJuiceOnBakingSoda

2. The consistency should be that of a paste, not too watery. This will ensure that the baking soda sticks to the bristles of the toothbrush. If you add too much lemon or lime juice, just sprinkle on a bit more baking soda and vice versa.
PasteOnBrush

3. Brush your teeth for about two minutes with the paste.
PasteOnTeeth
Now, I’m not gonna lie to you. The mixture tastes like sea water. So be prepared to want to spit it right out, but try not too.
Also, there may be a tingling sensation on your gums and tongue, unless that gets to be unbearable, there should be no cause for alarm, this is standard.

4. Rinse your mouth out with water (believe me, you’ll want to do this) and check out the them pearly whites.
BeforeAfter
I realize there is not a dramatic change in the before (top photo) and after (bottom photo) here.

Its hard to know what kind of actual results you can look forward to with all the scheisty tactics out there. I think almost every photo I came across online for ANY teeth whitening treatment was altered in some way. Some were blatantly photoshopped while others had excessive lighting differences between the before and after pictures.

I tried to be fully honest with my results and post these unedited photos so you can see what this treatment will actually be doing for you.

Here’s what I like about the baking soda/lemon juice method:
This whitening treatment cost me pennies and was over and done with in a matter of five minutes. How easy is that??
The more times you brush with this paste, the more effective it is at whitening your teeth over time.

** I will note that the abrasiveness of the mixture can wear down the enamel of your teeth if done frequently, I would advise only doing this treatment every week or every other week for best results.**
p.s. I eat raw lemons like they’re going out of style (thanks, Mexican genes!) which people also say will break down the enamel of your teeth and through every dentist visit I have ever had, they’ve always told me that my teeth are in perfectly good shape, so try not to be too scared that your teeth will fall out of your head.

tangled perfectsmile
Cheers!
All-Natural DIY teeth whitening treatment you can do at home! All you need is baking soda and lemon or lime juice. SO EASY!

Speak your piece!

Information

This entry was posted on February 2, 2015 by in beauty and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , .
