TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

Homemade All-Purpose Cleansing Wipes

Greetings, friends! 

Those who know me, know that I absolutely HATE to clean the kitchen.

This is not a feminist thing.

This is a …
… THING.

Its bleeping gross.

Cleaning the bathroom is just as bad.
So, I simply choose not to do it.
THAT’S RIGHT. YOU HEARD ME.

Ok. I do it sometimes, but I hate every minute of it.

I used to buy those Clorox wipes.
Then, of course, I found out that they double as

WEAPONS OF MASS DESTRUCTION.

Sooo, I went ahead and stopped buying those.

My only options are:
To die as my dear sweet Dumbledore, starting from the hands that were poisoned with dark magic.
To live in filth.
Or, as usual, come up with a very clever solution.

Here’s what you’ll need:
a plastic container wide and deep enough to hold half a roll of paper towels
a sharp knife

1 roll of paper towel
3/4 c white vinegar
1/2 c rubbing alcohol
1/4 c water
1 teaspoon dish soap
10-20 drops essential oils of your choosing (optional)

Here’s what you’ll do:
1. Using a sharp knife, cut the paper towel roll in half.

frayed edges. just the way I like them.

2. Place one half into your container.

Is that a storm trooper I see inside there? #probs.

3. Whisk all other ingredients together for the liquid and pour it over the dry roll in the container.

4. Once the roll is saturated with liquid (which doesn’t take long, CHILL OUT.), gently remove the cardboard and pull the first sheet from the center.

5. Voila!
And in case you thought that homemade cleaning products don’t work unless you scrub your little finger to the bone and use 10x more than you’d have to with the store bought stuff, I will totally humiliate myself to prove you wrong.
The “before” shot was taken after… a long time… of not cleaning, so that junk is pretty caked on there.
I only needed one sheet and one swipe to clean it off. So, HA!
ALSO:
1 roll of paper towels- $0.99
this recipe: $0.50
1 gallon of white vinegar- $1.95 (it came in a two pack from Costco, OH YEAH.)
this recipe: $0.09
32 oz rubbing alcohol- $3
this recipe: $0.38
25 oz dish soap- $2.50
this recipe: $0.02
1 fl oz essential oils – $8
this recipe: $0.27

water- FREE.

TOTAL: $1.26
#booyah

It costs $4.63 to buy Clorox wipes from Walmart.
Um, don’t those guys pride themselves on screwing over their employees having the best prices??
I THINK NOT.

Have any good green cleaning solutions of your own that you’d like to share? I’d love to hear about them!

Until next week, cheers!

Pin Me!
Pin Me!
One comment on “Homemade All-Purpose Cleansing Wipes

  1. Karla Wilkins
    December 4, 2015

    Fantastic method! I am going to try it. I use one recipe with lemon. $1.26 is an amazing price. I can`t believe that homemade things are so cheap. Can`t wait to show your post to my sister. She loves these things! Best regards!

    Like

Speak your piece!

