TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

Homemade Restaurant Style Salsa

Greetings, friends! 

I have had the luxury of being ill for the last week and a half and, BOY, let me tell you
It has been a DELIGHT.

I don’t know which I love more: the squeaky raspiness of my voice once its completely abandoned my body in search of a healthy host or being unable to sleep through my own snoring caused by my plugged up nose.

HMM.

Well folks, I’ve devised the perfect cure for my sad, congested, sleep-deprived body.

Jalapenos.

That’s right.

And may I add that this was definitely deduced from objective, scientific discovery and not by accident at all.

Here’s what you’ll need:
28 oz diced tomatoes, canned (you can, of course, dice up fresh tomatoes if you’ve got that kind of time on your hands.)
1 small red onion
1 jalapeno
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 c cilantro
1 Tbsp sugar (you may start with 1 tsp if you don’t care for a sweetness to your salsa… or to your life.)
juice of one lime
salt and pepper to taste (I use Kosher salt. Not because of Jewish law, but because of the laws of my tummy.)

Food processor/Ninja/Blender

Here’s what you’ll do:

1. Roughly chop the onion, cilantro and jalapeno.
*Remove the seeds from the jalapeno, but do not dispose of them just yet!

word to the wise: do not remove seeds with hands and proceed to touch your face.

2. Dump your canned, diced tomatoes, onion, cilantro, jalapeno (just the pepper, not the seeds), minced garlic, sugar, lime juice, salt and pepper into the food processor.
I also add some of the jalapeno seeds into the mixture to add a nice kick to the salsa. I’m a 12-15 seed kind of girl myself, but I recommend starting low and adding more later if you aren’t sure where you’re tolerance level is.
* I usually add around 2 teaspoons of Kosher salt and pepper to start then add more if necessary. 
* If you over salt, you can try to balance it out by adding a little more sugar.

3. Make sure the lid is on good and tight and blend away.
* The longer you blend, the smoother the salsa. I like my salsa fairly chunk-free so I blend for about 50-60 seconds (this will of course vary depending on what you use to blend, I use a Ninja). 

4. Dip some chips in there. This ish is GOOOOOOD.

This will yield about 40 oz of salsa.
Or as I like to think of it: a 1-quart mason jar + lunch.

So, how did this magical concoction cure me of my cold?

Well, if you are carelessly fabulous, as I most definitely am, just go touching around your nose after you seed that jalapeno.

CLEARED ME RIGHT UP. 

Have any tips on how to get over a cold fast?

Until next time, cheers!

Speak your piece!

Information

This entry was posted on November 5, 2014 by in recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
