TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

Homemade Key Lime Pie

Greetings, friends!

Here’s a fun little fact about me that I’m sure you’ve never cared to know– tsk, tsk–
I detest oranges.

Oranges are the bad cologne of the fruit world.
When someone eats an orange I feel like I can smell it on them from a mile away.
You go in for a hug and WHAM-O the nauseatingly sweet, citrus stench punches you right in the sniffer.

But, oh sweet mama llama, you give me a lemon or a lime and I will

SUCK. IT. DRY. 

Lemons and limes are the Jesus of the citrus fruit world here to redeem the brokenness of oranges and deliver us to the promise land.

Too much information? Perhaps.
Too much biblical imagery? Perhaps.

Before I lose myself in the ecstasy of merely thinking about my most beloved citrus dreamland, I’ll get to the point…

Pie.

I’ve made a similar point before, if you recall, with my truly scrumptious Bread Pudding recipe.

Now, I propose to you this:

Here’s what you’ll need:

For the crust
1 1/2 c graham crackers, ground
1/3 c white sugar
6 Tbsp butter, melted
1 tsp cinnamon

For the filling
28 oz sweetened, condensed milk
1/2 c sour cream (I just used plain greek yogurt #cleaneating …HA)
1 Tbsp lime zest
3/4 c lime juice

Here’s what you’ll do:

1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

2. Shove all those graham crackers into your mouth– no wait, into a blender/food processor/NINJA (the blender-like thing, not the skilled Japanese warrior) and CRUSH ‘EM.

3. Combine the annihilated graham cracker crumbs with the sugar, melted butter and cinnamon.
Mix well.

4. Carefully press this mixture into a pie pan.

If you are talented and beautiful like me, it will turn out like this:

“SWEET CRUMBLE, Batman! That’s one GORGEOUS pie crust!” they all shouted.

5. Bake the crust at 375 for 7 minutes.
After it has baked **LOWER THE TEMPERATURE TO 350 DEGREES**

6. In a medium bowl, combine the sweetened, condensed milk, sour cream, lime zest and lime juice.
Blend well.
*PRO TIP* roll your lime with the palm of your hand along a flat surface to help expel all those juices without breaking your hand.

Well… doesn’t that just look like food and not like vomit at all

7. Pour the filling into the baked pie crust and bake at 350 degrees for 9-11 minutes or until the surface sets and tiny air bubble craters appear on the top of the pie.
*DO NOT BROWN.

before baking 
after baking

8. Let the pie cool completely before devouring it in its entirety while you binge watch Gilmore Girls or Friends.
I know you.

look at those “rustic” crumbles. DEFINITELY on purpose.

Let’s recap.

Oranges.
Lemons and limes.

What tasty treat can you not live without?

Until next week, cheers!

2 comments on “Homemade Key Lime Pie

  1. Liz @ iheartvegetables
    October 31, 2014

    Oh wow, that looks yummy! I'd never had Key Lime Pie until I moved to Richmond, but the few times I've had it I've loved it!

    Like

  2. Danielle Berger
    October 31, 2014

    Thanks so much, Liz! We are big fans of pie around here 🙂

    Like

Speak your piece!

Information

This entry was posted on October 31, 2014 by in baking, cinnamon, cozy, dessert, easy, fast, graham cracker, greek yogurt, healthy, key, lemon, lime, ninja, oranges, pie, recipe, simple, truly.
