TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

DIY All-Natural Foundation Powder

Greetings, friends!

Go with me here for a minute.

Makeup.

Specifically, powder foundation.

I mean, you just want something to wear on your face so you’re not walking around all day like

So you think, “Ok, I’ll just pick up a little something from the store.”

Uhh. no.

Not only does that $10 compact of packed powder only come in, like, three colors, it doesn’t last and I think it made me breakout. Ack!

Ok. What else, what else, what elseeeeee.

Oh! Looky here, an entire store dedicated to makeup!

Mineral makeup! Lots of different shades. That sounds good!

$25? Gulp…

… Okay.

This is what I’ve been going through for years.

Is it too much to ask to have makeup that matches my skin tone, stays on all day and doesn’t cost an arm and a leg??

I’ve never even considered something as crazy as making my own powder foundation, that was, until I found this RIDICULOUSLY easy two ingredient recipe.

DIY All-Natural Foundation Powder
(original recipe by mymerrymessylife.com, modified by yours truly)

Here’s what you’ll need:

2 Tbsp arrowroot powder
baking cocoa powder or ground cinnamon or nutmeg (quantities vary, I used 3 teaspoons)

Here’s what you’ll do:

1. Put the arrowroot powder in a bowl and begin with 1 1/2 teaspoons of either cocoa powder, cinnamon or nutmeg.
** I used cocoa powder because my complexion is more on the “yellow” tinted side. You may use cinnamon if your complexion has more of a “red/pink” tint to it. 

Before

2. In natural light, remembering to match to the skin on your neck, add cocoa powder / cinnamon / nutmeg as needed (in increments of 1/2 a teaspoon) to darken the blend until you’ve got something that matches your skin tone.
If you get it a little too dark, just add a smidgen more arrowroot powder to lighten it up.

After

3.   Scoop the blend into a container of some kind and marvel at your charming resourcefulness.

Personally, I’m not a huge fan of wearing a lot of makeup. If you like the all-over flawless coverage of a thick powder foundation then HOORAH! More power to you, sister! This may not be for you, but I just pair it with a light concealer for my problem areas and then I’m good to go.

Now, what kind of DIY would this be if we didn’t talk about how much this is going to save you??

Buying arrowroot powder in bulk at Winco is about $2 for 1 cup (rounding up).
We used $.12 worth of arrowroot powder for this recipe.
I don’t remember how much my 8 oz container of baking cocoa cost. Maybe $5?
We used about $.10 worth of cocoa powder for this recipe

So that’s $.22 for twice as much powder foundation as I get when I buy mineral foundation for $25.

AMEN TO THAT.

Until next week, cheers!

2 comments on “DIY All-Natural Foundation Powder

  1. Dee Small
    April 16, 2014

    And if you use the cocoa powder, you smell magnificent all day long!! Danielle, you are a rock star. This is so practical!!!!! Keep it up!!!

    Like

  2. Danielle Berger
    April 16, 2014

    Dee, YES! I feel like a chocolate bar all day– er, in a good way. Thanks for the encouragement! I'm really enjoying this transition into a chemical-free beauty routine 🙂

    Like

Speak your piece!

Information

This entry was posted on April 15, 2014 by in arrowroot, beauty, cinnamon, cocoa, cozy, diy, eco, foundation, friendly, green, homemade, makeup, mineral, natural, nutmeg, powder, recipe, savings, truly.
