TrulyCozy

a simple lifestyle blog

Truly Cozy in Your Own Skin

Greetings, friends!

It has been a rough week for me.
I was forced to say goodbye to two very close friends of mine this last Saturday.
Through my trials and celebrations, they were always there for me.
It is with a heavy heart that I bid farewell to my friends gluten and dairy.

Giving up these two close friends of mine has not been easy, especially since I am not even allergic to gluten or dairy.
You may find yourself asking, “why the fresh hell would you give up these lifegiving treats?!”

I have NEVER gone to such an extreme measure in the name of losing a couple of pounds.
But that’s not all that this is.
I am not looking for a get thin quick scheme, I am looking for a lasting lifestyle change that will improve my overall wellness and health.

Allow me to clarify some misconceptions that might be passing through your mind about me now.

1. I actually DO love myself. I know I’m not perfect and that is A-okay with me!
WOO! crappy cell phone picture, ftw!
See? Nothing more self-loving than a selfie??
2. I am not doing this for anyone except sweet, lil’ old me.
I am eternally blessed to have an incredibly loving and supportive husband who has never once failed to let me know how beautiful and strong he thinks I am. Additionally, I have some amazing friends who empower me to do anything I set my mind to and accept me for all my strengths and struggles.
3. I am not making a social/political statement with my new eating habits.
I am no better than anyone else for my new GF/DF eating. Who am I to judge someone for eating whatever they damn well please?? I am not into shaming people for enjoying the glory of cheese and bread.
*but if you stick it in my face, I may drool on it.
Essentially, when trying to get healthy, it has never worked well to just tell myself that I need to eat less or even just to eat “better” foods, whatever that means. So vague.
I am the queen of loopholes and back doors. Tell me to eat better for myself and I’ll tell you the nutritional value in dipping your french fries in a chocolate milkshake. (Potatoes are vegetables and there’s some form of milk in milkshakes, right? It can’t be that bad for you.)
Going gluten/dairy free has simply given me something specific to go off of so I can make my eating habits more intentional.
Its easy to order a burger, fries, soda and brownie sundae from a restaurant in one sitting when I don’t have any restrictions besides my own definition of “eating better” holding me accountable (hey, I could’ve gotten the triple deluxe cheeseburger, then I’d really be going off my “diet”).
Despite its challenges, I have felt pretty good since implementing these new changes in my eating habits.
Except for the first day, the first day sucked.
Now that I’ve got my feet under me a little more on how to eat gluten free and dairy free while still giving my body balanced meals that provide the proper nutrients (calcium, protein, etc.) that it needs, I feel like things will only continue to improve.
Maybe I won’t lose a single pound or inch off my body, but I figure if nothing else, I won’t be feeding my body all the processed junk I was before.
Now then, this is the perfect opportunity to bring this all around to being truly cozy in your own skin.
To you, my readers: YOU DON’T NEED TO CHANGE ANYTHING ABOUT YOURSELF; YOU ARE THE BEST *YOU* ON THIS EARTH AND IT NEEDS YOU JUST THE WAY YOU ARE.
I am not Danielle, the gluten free, dairy free eater. The same way I was not previously Danielle, the lover of all things chocolate and fried.
YOU define YOU.
Let your positive actions and encouraging words speak volumes to the kind of human being you are.
If you exclusively shop organic, fresh, local foods: GOOD.
If you’ve never met a hamburger/taco/pasta you didn’t like: EXCELLENT.
If you are obsessed with working out: AWESOME.
If you loathe working out: FABULOUS.
If you are happy: AMAZING.
Let me share some truths with you…
“You can be the most beautiful person in the world and everybody sees light and rainbows when they look at you, but if you yourself don’t know it, all of that doesn’t even matter. Every second that you spend on doubting your worth, every moment that you use to criticize yourself; is a second of your life wasted, is a moment of your life thrown away. It’s not like you have forever, so don’t waste any of your seconds, don’t throw even one of your moments away.” -C. JoyBell C.
“The person in life that you will always be with the most, is yourself. Because even when you are with others, you are still with yourself, too! When you wake up in the morning, you are with yourself, laying in bed at night you are with yourself, walking down the street in the sunlight you are with yourself.What kind of person do you want to walk down the street with? What kind of person do you want to wake up in the morning with? What kind of person do you want to see at the end of the day before you fall asleep? Because that person is yourself, and it’s your responsibility to be that person you want to be with. I know I want to spend my life with a person who knows how to let things go, who’s not full of hate, who’s able to smile and be carefree. So that’s who I have to be.” -C. JoyBell C. 
Damn, JoyBell. Damn…
In closing, I will leave you with this:
(sorry, for the language… kinda.)
Until next week, cheers!
2 comments on “Truly Cozy in Your Own Skin

  1. R. Renee Pearson
    December 16, 2014

    You have a TERRIFIC sense of humor. Love the blog.

    Like

  2. Danielle Berger
    December 17, 2014

    You are so kind, Renee! Thank you, thank you! Glad someone else gets as big of a kick out of me as I do 😉

    Like

Speak your piece!

Information

This entry was posted on January 22, 2014 by in bread, cheese, confidence, dairy, diet, eating, food, free, gluten, healthy, lifestyle, love, paleo, personal, self, self-esteem.
